bucket sump without overflow or drilled tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by mandarinman, 9 Jul 2012.

  1. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    i was thinking how to make a safe sump for my tl550 and this is my idea.a container wether bucket or small tank. if you have a top up switch in your main tank and a return pump connected to it to top up the main tank from sump bucket or glass sump. All you would need is a siphon pipe of sufficient diameter to keep the water flowing down at sufficient a rate to keep the top up pump flowing. With an anti syphon hole on the top up pipe and the end of the syphon pipe coming from the tank being just below the surface of the main tank. You cannot have probs. If power fails the syphon will take a cm of water out of main tank and stop. When the dt fills up to the float switch level it will stop pumping. all one would havto so after a power failure is reprime syphon from dt? Will this work?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    how many towels do you got?
    will you be there if the powers comes back on?
     
  4. DubKorps

    DubKorps

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2012
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sumwer in CT
    i say drill the tank :lol: if you drill i will drill too :lol:..... i mainly want to drill for the fact of more DT space :p for my new mp10wES
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,231
    Location:
    Centurion
    The return pump will fail. These pumps are not designed to be switched on and off 200 times a day.
     
    mandarinman likes this.
  6. mandarinman

    mandarinman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    the pump will only come on if the float switch in the dt will allow it to so there will be no need for towels imo or how do you see it
     
  7. mandarinman

    mandarinman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    i was hoping to balance the flow a bit better so that it is not on off all the time. But you ,make a valid point
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - bucket sump without Forum Date
Re Mix salt bucket General Discussions and Advice 26 Sep 2016
Bucket Quarantine another round Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 11 Oct 2015
Understanding the info on the salt bucket Beginner Discussions 13 Oct 2014
murky bucket/transfer method water General Discussions and Advice 24 Mar 2014
Microbe-Lift Reef Salt 757L bucket special...R995 !! http://www.microbelift.co... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 7 Mar 2014
Welcome OmegaSea Reef Salt! comes in a 220L bag or a 680L bucket, now stocked by... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 8 Jan 2014
[wtd] empty salt buckets Wanted 25 Nov 2013