Bubble coral crisis !!!!!!!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Daneo, 18 Oct 2011.

  1. Daneo

    Daneo

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    johannesburg
    HI guys I have a small crisis on my hands when I came home today I saw a large portion of my bubble coral has come off. I was wondering if it’s possible to reattach it to an old skeleton? Help will be appreciated. :eek::peroni::banghead::cursing::please::baffled::y14::y10::unhappy::helpsmilie::013::beatdeadhorse5: thats how frustrated i am
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Unfortunatly not, just be careful as the entire polyp may detatch and float around the tank. Is it in a high flow area and what are your water parameters? How long have you had the coral?
     
  4. Daneo

    Daneo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    johannesburg
    its in a low flow hey my water parameters are good my ca am mag are a lil hight 550ca and 1500 mag an iv had it for about 5 months
     
  5. Alan

    Alan Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    KZN
    Okay, i remember reading about this a few years ago, but for the life of me i cant remember the reason it happened, but you wont be able to re-attach.
     
  6. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    I'm following this thread. My bubble coral also "let go" of some polyps about two weeks ago, the skeleton looks healthy and the remaining polyps don't show any signs of something wrong. It's in a low flow spot in my tank. My Frogspawn also "dropped" a head of tentacles, its been in my tank for a few months and been growing well. The Frogspawn is in a "relatively" high flow spot.

    I do have high nitrates and phosphates at the moment.
     
  7. coswecanfly

    coswecanfly

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Posts:
    625
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I'd love to see pics of this becuase I'm too dense to get what you mean... :)
     
  8. Daneo

    Daneo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    johannesburg
    Yea and there are minomal threads or articals on this situation hey.
     
  9. FAYE SHAIK

    FAYE SHAIK

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately not, I too have lost the same. :(
     
  10. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    Here's about best I can explain it. It's hard to get pics of exactly what happened.

    The Torch and Bubble corals are "branching" right, the coral consist of two parts, ie the "skeleton" and the "flesh/polyps". The flesh grows out of the skeleton, and what is happening here is the flesh "tears" away from the skeleton and eventually detaches completely (from the skeleton).

    In my two corals that this happened to, the flesh/polyps that tore away looked perfectly healthy, extended as usual.
     
  11. coswecanfly

    coswecanfly

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Posts:
    625
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Interesting... My torch is branching again now so I hope it does not happen here... :-o I'm tagging... Please keep this thread updated...
     
  12. Braco

    Braco

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    606
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    cape town
    I agree with coswecanfly i have had my torch for some time and haven't had this experience myself..me too tagging along..;)
     
  13. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    My torch is in a high flow area (maybe even a bit to high), started with 4 heads and I'm now on 7 so I don't think it necessarily has anything to do with flow...
     
  14. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    @Daneo and @pXius what are your Nitrate and Phosphate readings?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  15. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    Both Undetectable.

    Nitrate tested with Salifert and Tropic Marin
    Phos with Salifert.
     
  16. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    do you mean entire polyps or just shedding a few tentacles?
     
  17. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    Mine lose entire polyps - as in just the skeleton stays there.

    My Phosphate is a 3mg/l and Nitrate at 30. However, from what I've read these shouldn't harm softies and LPS. What I also suspect might be the culprit is Alkalinity is at 5Kh (did I say that right?). All my tests are with Tropic Marin kits. My salinity is a bit high at the moment, but I'm bringing this down slowly. Was at 1.032 and now at 1.030, checked with a refractometer.
     
  18. 459b

    459b Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    9,748
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Cape Town
    your phosphate, nitrate and salinity are way too high for corals. Try bringing them down.
    What is your ammonia reading?
     
  19. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    My dKH is also at 5 :whistling: but I'm treating that starting tonight. So its most probably your high nutrient levels.

    Personally I think lots of people without refractometers run their salinity too high. I've already encountered 2 reefers who mixed salt to get into the "green area" on the hydrometer and after testing their levels they both had 1.3+ readings.
     
    Last edited: 19 Oct 2011
  20. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    I did a 25%(100l) waterchange last Sunday, but test results two days later were the same. Ammonia was undetectable.

    What would you suggest is my best course of action as I'm moving next weekend. I got an awesome shallow tank from Jaco Schoeman, and I thought about setting it up temp to hold my livestock, and then re-setup my 6foot with new water. I made the stupid noob mistake of tapwater topups over the past year, so I guess that's biting my backside now.
     
  21. chas84

    chas84

    Joined:
    2 Sep 2010
    Posts:
    502
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Centurion
    Lol. What's your plan of action to increase the alkalinity?

    Haha the "in the green is ok" probably comes from freshwater days when you just checked the little floating glass thermometer was "in the green" and then temp is ok
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Bubble coral crisis Forum Date
[wtd] Bubble coral Wanted 24 Jul 2016
Loving these Bubble and Pearl Corals JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 1 Jul 2016
[wtd] Bubble coral wanted Wanted 25 May 2016
[wtd] Bubble coral Wanted 4 Mar 2016
Branching Blue Bubble Coral ► Sponsor Request Forum 4 Dec 2015
Amazing Bubble and Pearl Corals Jungle Aquatics 28 Nov 2015
[wtd] Blue Bubble Coral Wanted 26 Nov 2015