Brown algae

Joined
24 Nov 2007
Posts
776
Reaction score
41
Location
Pmb
Hi guys, recently hooked up a 14w 6400k energy saver to my fuge.After 1 month,brown algae started developing.Just wanted to know,is this normal.Thanks.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Hi guys, recently hooked up a 14w 6400k energy saver to my fuge.After 1 month,brown algae started developing.Just wanted to know,is this normal.Thanks.
Either part of your cycle or you have too many nutrients in your system. Reduce feeding or get your PO4 down by using good phosphate remover
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Yep, the brown algae is most probably diatoms, all they are doing is burning off excess nutrients, think of it as a maturing process
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
Thanks guys, I assume all is in order.
yep, plant some cheato in the DSB (or rather float it) and that will help with the export of phosphates and nitrates, which will, in turn, get rid of your diatoms, cyano etc, which are all part of "new tank syndrome"
 
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
So if I have a new tank that I have put cured live rock in and a few days later thay have accumalated alot of brown algae, I must not worry as it is just part of the cycling process
 

Mike

Retired Moderator
Joined
12 May 2007
Posts
7,859
Reaction score
31
Location
the Motherland
So if I have a new tank that I have put cured live rock in and a few days later thay have accumalated alot of brown algae, I must not worry as it is just part of the cycling process
That is correct, what you need to do is to check for Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and phosphate, check them daily for around a week, and post up the results
 
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
I have put in a product called cycle that is ment to put in the bacteria and skip the cycle process, have you herd of this befor? also as the brown algae is growing all over my live rock, will it harm my rocks?
 
Joined
5 Oct 2007
Posts
1,607
Reaction score
14
Location
Cape Town
Don't know the product. The algae will not damage your rocks and will dissapear as the tank cycles.
 
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
I also have a UV light in my fillter system wich I have left off as i have herd that it kills good and bad bacteria but it all so kills algae, what are your thoughts on this?
 
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
Its a tank with a built in filter at the back of the tank, water runs through the filter media, though a power head into a pipe, then though a sealed UV light and into the tank.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
Its a tank with a built in filter at the back of the tank, water runs through the filter media, though a power head into a pipe, then though a sealed UV light and into the tank.
UV will kill all "smaller" creatures in your water column, and it doesn't distinguish between good or bad. If you keeping loads of sensitive corals UV is a must. If you are keeping creatures that rely on small critters (mandarin fish) you need to be careful with UV as all the pods "babies" can be killed by UV and reduce population growth.

IMHO: UV is not required as a beginner, if your tank cycles probably and naturally you won't need UV, Ozone and/or Calcium reactors. Start playing with the more advanced gear once you have a mature established system

It is like learning to drive a car for the first time and it is running NOS. The NOS is not really going to help you learn to drive and will probably just make it more difficult.
 
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
YIP war is right, learn youre car first:whistling:

My tank had this kak red wine colour algae on it, then...
I added a UV to my sump and then later added a Carbon and phos remover, and it's all gone now.(No more algae problems)
And i have alot alot alot alot alot of pods in my DT, but no mandirin.
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
YIP war is right, learn youre car first:whistling:

My tank had this kak red wine colour algae on it, then...
I added a UV to my sump and then later added a Carbon and phos remover, and it's all gone now.(No more algae problems)
And i have alot alot alot alot alot of pods in my DT, but no mandirin.
If you have enough pods (but must be 100's) great fish to add to a system and very pretty.

The kak red wine colour, is not algae, it is a bacteria - Cyano, indication of high phosphate levels, normally a new tank problem or bad RO water.

 
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
That bacteria was hectic, it grew on everything.
Mandrin looks nice but don't one need that littel white moving stuff in DT.(Don't know hat's it called)
 
Joined
28 Dec 2007
Posts
12,781
Reaction score
31
Location
JHB
That bacteria was hectic, it grew on everything.
Mandrin looks nice but don't one need that littel white moving stuff in DT.(Don't know hat's it called)
White moving stuff, have a pic?
 
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
211
Reaction score
0
Location
Cape Town
the UV light was already in the tank. I think I need to get a good book to learn more about reef keeping, any idears? I now the basics as I have been keeping fresh water for years, but that is basic comperd to marine and forgiving
 

Similar threads


Top