Brown algae

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by nepellew, 26 Jul 2011.

  1. nepellew

    nepellew

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    Hey guys really begging for help here been battling with this brown algae and have no idea what im doing wrong all my levels are correct as per my lfs and im doing biweekly water changes but can’t get rid of this algae help see the bubbles are attaching to it

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(
     
    Last edited: 26 Jul 2011
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    looks like Green Hair Algae on the rocks and cyano on the glass.. How old is your tank? Dont worry about the GHA, its quite normal to get. High nutrients and phosphates are generally the cause of it. I had/have quite a bit but I have been carbon dosing and have thus brought my nutrient levels down so the GHA is receding
     
  4. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    Hey my tank has been running since 20th November 2010 , and how on earth do i get that purple alge growing ......
     
    Last edited: 26 Jul 2011
  5. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    did you have algae before? All tanks have an algae period, but its caused by high nutrients and phosphates. Are you using any phosphate remover? Dont stress too much about it
     
  6. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    ive had this from when the tank had a bio load and nope not using and phosphate remover
     
  7. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Did you test for phosphates? I had a GHA out break with no bio load in the tank for 4weeks lol!

    I would recommend getting some phosphate remover as that is the culprit. Even if you test for Po4, it would show it at 0, but that is because the GHA is eating the PO4 before it can show in the test.. With phosphate remover, it will take a while for the PO4 to drop
     
  8. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    thanks alot Tremayn any brands u recommend
     
  9. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Well best will be to use a phosphate reactor.. bubble magus makes a cool cheap one for like R900.. I have used seachem phosguard in an organza bag.. Seachem products are generally good. Phosguard can be used in a bag.. to be honest I have not noticed a difference using phosguard lol. Vodka dosing made a huge difference but you need a good skimmer for that. In one day my skimmer pulled out 3L of skimmate!! :eek: .. What skimmer do you have?
     
  10. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    hit the button then ;)
     
  11. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    well im not proud ofmy skimmer haha so maby will have to use some seachem phosguard i only got a resun sk-05 haha planning on getting a Ts1
     
  12. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    If you can, go for the small bubble magus or reef octo NW. The magus is reasonably priced.. Get one with a pin wheel impellar and bubble plate. So far vodka dosing is like the best thing ever! You just need a good skimmer :)
     
  13. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Remember to add the phosguard slowly to your system in a high flow area over a week so as not to shock your system.. You can use an organza bag :)
     
  14. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    Okie dokie have no idear how to use it but will do some research thanks again is there any forums on here with how to do it
     
  15. herkie

    herkie R.I.P.

    Joined:
    18 May 2007
    Posts:
    884
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Bay of KZN
    Have u seen a surgeon chowing algae?
     
  16. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    herkie nope haha
     
  17. herkie

    herkie R.I.P.

    Joined:
    18 May 2007
    Posts:
    884
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Bay of KZN
    I have this locally caught surgeon in my tank for the past 2 weeks and the algae thing has changed dramatically.
     
  18. slless9

    slless9

    Joined:
    5 Apr 2011
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    hi there
    what carbon did you use?
     
  19. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    Ok guys game plan how to get rid of it and how on earth to dose or what ever u do please help im open to all idears , im still a new bee here , been asking my lfs about alot but still better to have it in writing haha and u caint ask him everything thanks again guys for all the help
     
  20. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Getting a fish to eat the algae will work, but thats not fixing the problem of high phosphates and or high nutrients.. but what the heck :) ..
     
  21. nepellew

    nepellew Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2010
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    glenmore
    Ok went to the lfs and he said i must just put this clean C+ carbon in a bag and put it in a high flow area in my sump does any one agree with this method
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Brown algae Forum Date
Have strange brown algae Beginner Discussions 28 Feb 2016
Red algae, brown algae and hair algae Nuisance Algae 21 Aug 2015
Glass covered in brown like algae?? Nuisance Algae 11 Mar 2015
Red/Brown Algae Nuisance Algae 3 May 2014
Brown algae General Discussions and Advice 10 Jan 2014
Brown algae Beginner Discussions 19 Sep 2013
green and brown hair algae Beginner Discussions 17 May 2013