Bretts tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Brett, 25 Jan 2008.

  1. Brett

    Brett

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a tank of similar size, 850 high x 830 wide x 550 deep. My depth is quite a bit more. The depth and correct lighting has been a challenge, I currently run a 150W MH with 2 x 24w T5's, am upgrading in the near future. The problem I forsee you having is spacing a reef with your depth, my depth of 550 has allowed me to aquascape quite high and still be able to keep Zoo's and softies at substrate level with some SPS on top. [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Hi Brett, would you like me to move you to create your own thread?

    Welcome to masa by the way
     
  4. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    Wow Brett, stunning little tank you have there :)
     
  5. Brett

    Brett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Wee-man. I just wanted to give an idea of what I achieved with the same amount of vertical space. I recently re-aquascaped the tank (hence the sterile look) for this exact reason as previously everything was stacked on the bottom.

    Thanks Viper!
     
  6. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    masahello BRETT

    Very Very nice tank there, I really like the look of it
     
  7. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Nice tank, I have the same sort of size 800 x 800 x 650. I like the reef, using all that height. I really need to change mine
     
  8. Brett

    Brett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks folks.

    Here are a couple of shots of the rest of my setup.........chiller and UPS in cabinet in bathroom next door.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Brett, i stuck a link onto the other tank thread, so show your design, thanks for that, kind of you.

    And now the engine room pictures....good man:thumbup:
     
  10. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    I'm impressed, really nice and neat setup. How long has the tank been running and what computer are you running there?
     
  11. Brett

    Brett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again Viper. Tank is coming up for almost three years now, the current setup with the new aquascaping has been running for a month now. This photo taken a month ago, 1 week afterwards.

    The controller I am running is an AquaMedic AT - it's almost exactly the same as the Aquatronica.
     
  12. IMarine

    IMarine

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    walmer estate capetown
    excellent setup
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    hey Brett, very neat setup!

    What type/make inverter do you use?
     
  14. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    I notice you seem to have some plumbing at the lower level of the reef. Is this to create a cave or CLS ?
     
  15. Brett

    Brett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The invertor make is a Perfect Power 1100watt, I bought if from Outdoor Warehouse I think. I am then running a Deltec 120Ah deep cycle battery with a CTEK charger, this gives me 12 hours on my OR3500 return pump, it also runs the heaters in Winter (The longest power fail in winter thus far has been 5 hours and it went fine). One modification I am making today (thanks Eskom) is to run an air stone into the first compartment in my sump, this will only kick in when the power fails to add additional oxygen to the tank as the skimmer pump will draw to much power.

    The bottom plumbing in the tank serves as both, a CLS intake and rock shelf.......I wanted as little rock on the substrate as possible.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Good looking tank there Brett! Congrats!
     
  17. nakoma

    nakoma

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Richards bay
    nice nice nice :thumbup:
     
  18. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Brett, that is one seriously neat set up. Really well done there:thumbup:
     
  19. nakoma

    nakoma

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Richards bay
    to meany people's tanks is a clutter of wires and things this is how it should look like nice and neat very well dont i like it alot or you look at somones tank and the first thing you see is a ugly sump with things haning from it
     
  20. Punk

    Punk

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    one day when i grow up i also want such a neat setup! ps. do you run a DSB brett? couldn't really see from the pics... cheers
     
  21. Brett

    Brett Thread Starter

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all for the kind comments! Punk I am not running a DSB, I don't have any room left. As it is I hardly have a sump (2 compartments only). My Nitrates currently run at about 2.5, the last 2 things I would like to do with my setup is to upgrade the lighting to a 250W MH with 4xT5's and then run a small De-nitrifyer - I am busy building the de-nitrifyer as a bought one will not fit, I will use deniballs with a MV probe with my AT controller to regulate this.

    The reason I needed the setup to be neat and tidy (not to mention quiet) is due to it's location at my bar which is open plan with the living area in our house. It's the only location I have - hopefully one day I will have my dream tank:(
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Bretts tank Forum Date
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Yesterday at 12:40
My 300lt Tank Medium Tanks Friday at 22:45
Any tanks for sale in Port Elizabeth Area. Wanted 24 Nov 2016
Recommended HW for 100L tank? General Discussions and Advice 20 Nov 2016
Tank Builder Anything DIY Related 17 Nov 2016
Brads Peninsula tank Large Tanks 17 Nov 2016
Advice Needed for Sale of Tank General Discussions and Advice 16 Nov 2016