Bracing reasons

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by AdrianTregoning, 17 Feb 2014.

1. AdrianTregoning

AdrianTregoning

Good day,

Calling any engineers here who can shed some light.

I did a quick finite element analysis on a tank I'm designing. My choice is no bracing. I have a shop who is insistent on adding bracing. I'm a mechanical engineer but definitely no FEA expert so have a look at the design with and without bracing. Did I make a mistake or is the real reason for adding bracing to bring the maximum stress away from the bottom join as the results imply?

With a max stress of 14 MPa and glass yielding at 70 this gives a FOS of 5. An online calculator gave me 4, and two other Excel sheets I downloaded around the 6 mark. So the stress values seem to be legit which makes me think the results I obtained are accurate.

It is quite interesting to have run this and definitely something to examine further. I think too many people do things on tanks because it was done before but without seeing why. I like the why. Any thoughts?

Cheers,
    Adrian

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. JJF

JJF

Wow, this is very interesting. I am also an engineer, but of the electronics kind, and have also wondered about this.

If I may ask, what would be the effect of a point load at the middle top of the glass, say someone pulling or pushing or bumping against it while under full distributed load? I suspect that most people get very nervouse to see a pane of glass bend, at least I do, even knowing that the design is overdesigned by a factor of 5.

My own tropical 1.2m tank is made from 12mm glass with longitudial bracing as well as two crss bracings. Let's me sleep like a baby at night... :)

4. dallasg

dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

can you give us the dimensions of the tank

5. Gareth0508

Gareth0508