boyu tl550

Discussion in 'New Members' started by mrtickle75, 4 Jul 2010.

1. mrtickle75

mrtickle75

i am new to marine tanks only had it 2days is the bar that sticks out the skimmer and if so does the water have to be level with it or can it go above it:lol:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Dane

Dane

A warm welcome to MASA! But we are an english speaking site btw..
    Just kidding ;-) Perhaps you'd be so kind as to break that slurry of words into complete sentences? There is a wealth of knowledge in the minds of the users of this site, and I'm sure they'll be able to assist with your query.

Do you know about cycling your tank? There is an initial run-in period before you can stock it with fish etc, if you havent heard about it do some googling and research ;-)

4. mrtickle75

mrtickle75 Thread Starter

what is a skimmer and where will i find it . can anyone tell me the correct water level for my tank thanks

Last edited: 4 Jul 2010
  5. Dane

Dane

A protein skimmer basically creates small bubbles which lift dissolved organics compounds out of your tank into the cup (a process known as foam fractionation). Its an excellent way to pull excess nutrients and waste out of your tank.

You can buy them from most fish stores, or you can build your own one with a bit of effort. There are plans and details on this site and multitude if you google it.

There is no "correct" water level. High enough that it doesnt overflow when you put your arm in the tank is a good place to start. But basically enough that it satisfies any overflows you might have in your system.

You didnt answer re: cycling your tank. There are a few absolutely crucial things you need to do when you're starting a marine system. If you don't you'll probably lose livestock and money - not to mention subject your fish to a painful, cruel death.

Perhaps you could provide some more details as to your system, plans, schedule etc?

Pictures also help a great deal with us helping you :)