Boyu TL550 Setup and advice

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by SteveF, 29 Aug 2016.

1. SteveF

SteveF

Hi everyone being reading this forum for the last few weeks and since I recently picked up a 2nd hand one I thought I would join up and get some advice from everyone. This is my first attempt at a saltwater tank so I have no real expectations but to learn and have fun as I move forward.

So basically its the TL550 with the LED hood. I got it pretty dirty and messed up so have tried to clean it up as best as possible.

This is a pic of the hood which I took apart and cleaned up recently.

[​IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

I have also recently cleaned up the tank as best as possible which is sitting in its position ready for its substrate. Which leads my to my first question as to what substrate people would recommend. I am not really a fan of fine sand as most aquariums I have seen with fine sand seems to have a lot of it floating in the water. I was thinking of a maybe a slightly larger grain of aragonite type living sand? I have been warned to stay away from crushed coral if possible.

[​IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

This is the backboard of the tank with some white shell like substance which I'm struggling to remove so I will probably just leave it as it is.

[​IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

There are 4 chambers in the back of the Boyu the first one is empty the second one has what I assume to be the skimmer the third one is empty and the fourth has the pump.

[​IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

I did get these with the tank I'm assuming the filter sponge should go into chamber one and the ceramic rings and what I'm assuming to be aragonite into chamber three which will be joined with live rock and possibly the heater as well. I have read on a previous thread that it is not advised to keep the heater in chamber four but rather three for more consistent temperature

[​IMG] [/URL][/IMG]

I think that's probably enough questions for today so please feel free to comment

[​IMG]