Boyu TL-550

Discussion in 'Nano Tanks' started by ZeroCool, 22 Jun 2009.

1. ZeroCool

ZeroCool

Morning everyone,

Last weekend I bought a second hand Boyu TL-550 second hand.

What a mission moving it, but it got moved and everything looks ok (i think.)

firstly, where do i get a manual for the back end system ? I am very new at this and would like to get into it for a hobby.

Secondly, the seller didn't really care for the system, and there are green algae on the live rock ... (how do one remove that).

Thirdly, I have 3 fish, 1 clown and 2 zerbra's (hope i got the names correct, and the 2 kreepy's as i call them (crabs that clean and eat the algae).

Fourly, I read about everyone talking about testing etc.

I never tested any of the water and think i should. I will find a good petshop and take a sample for testing.

Fithly, if i substitute some water and replace it with RO water .... must i mix salt with it or not ?

Sorry for all the dummy questions, I got this for a really good price and I am very new.

Hope to her from you soon.

Regards
    Zero

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hiya ZeroCool! Great to have you on-board! It is such a shame that someone would let a nano tank like that go to neglect.... whatever their reasons were....

BUT - good on you for wanting to learn, and that you joined MASA, in order to do so!

I am not sure if I welcomed you to MASA yet, so, if I have, please excuse and ignore - but, here goes: A VERY WARM WELCOME to MASA! Great to have you on-board!

To answer your questions:
    - the FIRST thing you must do, is get some decent test kits, RO water, and some synthetic salt (if you have these things, then great).
    The test-kits you require, in the beginning, are:
    = ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph, salinity/SG (salt concentration - you get a hydrometer or a refractometer for this), alkalinity, temperature

Now - here's the thing: