Bottled water for Marine Tanks ?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Cassim, 12 Nov 2010.

1. Cassim

Cassim

Hi there Fellow Reefers

I am a newbie busy researching all aspects as to reef keeping. Staying in Newcastle makes life a bit interesting seeing that we have no LFS. So RO water will be a bit of a challenge. Could i use bottled filtered still water e.g. Nestle 5 Litre's that we find in supermarkets ?

Thanks and Regards

Cassim

2. Guest

3. SaltyReef

SaltyReef

would be cheaper to buy a RO unit

4. 459b

459b Moderator

It will be much cheaper to buy a RO unit.

5. Goby

Goby

if you can get your hands on R.O water it would be the best. As far as i know A TDS reading of not more than 10 is recommended, however anything lower than 5 is highly recommended.

If you go and look at labels on spring water bottles you will be amazed at the high TDS reading they offer. The lowest TDS reading i could find on spring water was 64. Do yourself a favour and go through some brands, and if i'm not mistaken nestle offered a reading well over 100. Check it out...i couldn't believe it.

If that's the only water you can get your hands on, i suppose it would be better than tap water. Well that is at least here by me. My tap water read 144. IMO i would rather buy a RO unit and ship before i use any of the 2.

Last edited: 12 Nov 2010
  6. OP
    Cassim

Cassim

Thanks guys for the advice. Will pursue buying the RO unit instead...thanks

7. butcherman

butcherman Moderator

speak to marko - the waterboy. He is a sponsor on this forum will make you a good deal ;)

8. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

I agree, no bottled water - only use RO with TDS of 5 and less. Talk to Marco, our Waterboy, he is in Durbs and a sponsor on our forum. In the meantime, make friends with Chikaboo - he also stays in New Castle and regularly goes to Durbs.
    Send him a private message - he's a nice guy and I'm sure he will help you ;)

9. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator