Blue Spong coral - now white

Reaction score
I got blue sponge coral, about the size of the average hand, this particular one is white (been so sice I got it, actually bought it white). I notice close to where it is attached to the rock ther is a slight change in shade towrad blue but nothing to write home about, maybe the size of a R5 coin. Will this ever recover and completely blue out, or is this actually meant to be white, or is it dead??

Sounds dead, But I'm not a coral expert. :(

me neither and that is what I assumed too - again, just an assumption, I have hunted online for any helpful info but came up empty handed. Even dead - it doesn't seem to be doing any harm but looking like a big piece of white plastic in the tank, adds color for right now and I am not adding anything to the tank for the next few months so unless it poses a threat to the chemical balance which so far it hasn't, it could just "park off and play dead"

I think you have the some sponge that i have

Mine turned from green to green sea blue(more blue than green)...and is now growing fast.

Mine took about 1 month to change colour....i think it has something to do with light.
It come out of a system that had mostly 10'k globes and my tank is more towards 14'k

Will let you know if its the same sponge once you upload

The sponge i have is called Collospongia it is a photosynthetic sponge( comes from the Indo-Pacific)...so it likes to be in the light

If you have the Blue Haliclona sponge...and it turned white it will deff not be dead...the dead part normally turn brown;)

Sorry for all the posts....

Here is a pic...does it look like what you are talking about?

29104bb21a5d3ea0c.jpg

Deff Collospongia dude

Very bad shape...i wont keep it in the tank...but thats just me.

I dont think it will be able to photosynthesize anymore.....i think direct feeding will probably get it ack...but i wont take the chance