bio cubes question

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Jinx, 23 Feb 2013.

  1. Jinx

    Jinx

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    657
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    KEMPTON PARK
    I added bio cubes to my system in a reactor with an airpump connected to it...results are very good so far but my skimmer stopped skimming ever since.Should I be concern?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    How long ago did you add the cubes, and where are they in relation to the skimmer?
     
  4. RocketRooster

    RocketRooster

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alberton
    Just give it time I reckon. Did you soak in RO beforehand?
     
  5. Jinx

    Jinx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    657
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    KEMPTON PARK
    I have them in the reactor for about two months now,but didn't use the airpump before a week ago..reactor outlet is in the last chamber of the sump.Skimmer is in the first chamber.
     
  6. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    When last did you give the skimmer a proper strip and clean?
    Might be a blocked air pipe on the skimmer.
     
    Last edited: 23 Feb 2013
  7. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    I dont think the cubes has anything to do with the skimmer not doing its job...
    My skimmer actually started skimming more consistent (better) after adding the cubes & its still maintaining that pace after 3 months use!
    Maybe a complete clean of the skimmer would do the trick!
    Which skimmer are you using & whats your total tank volume?
     
    Last edited: 23 Feb 2013
  8. Jinx

    Jinx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    657
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    KEMPTON PARK
    Hey guys thanks for all your replies,my skimmer woke up yesterday....wouldn't know why it acted in this way in the first place.I'm just happy everything is back to normal.

    Now I'll just have to keep an eye on my tanks water chemistry.:thumbup:
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - cubes question Forum Date
Question regarding Orca nitra guard bio cubes Orca Labs 3 Mar 2013
Bio-cubes vs bio-pellets???? Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 31 Aug 2016
[wtd] Reef X-Tra-X cubes Wanted 9 May 2016
Reef X-TRA-X Cubes Wild on Pets 17 Jul 2015
Need to remove some mulm from your aquarium, using bio pellets, bio cubes or zeo... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 18 Jun 2015
Have you tried ORCA Bio Cubes and Titanium yet? Share your review on our product... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 7 Jun 2015
Help with Orca nitra quard cubes Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 28 May 2015