bio cubes in a biopellet reactor

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by SApicoreef, 20 Mar 2013.

  1. SApicoreef

    SApicoreef

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Durban
    hi just want to know if i can do this and also use the gfo from ocra with the cubes

    thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Hi,

    yes you can use GFO with cubes
    i wouldnt recommend using the cubes in a reactor, but you can, it will need large amounts of air @Express Reef will confirm the reactor part
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. Barend

    Barend

    Joined:
    26 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Linksfiled Ridge
    What is GFO?
     
  5. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    Granular Ferric Oxide, the same as your antiphos and rowa phos. It's the chemical name
     
  6. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    You also get GFH which is granular ferric hydroxide which is stronger
     
  7. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    Data?
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    well they both should actually be called Granular Iron Oxide Hydroxide, one is wet and one is dry, but for our use they normally supply the same...

    we use GFH for arsenic removal, so maybe i was mistaken when it comes to reefing as most companies supply the Granular Iron Oxide Hydroxide and market it differently, RHF let me know
     
  9. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    RHF reply
     
  10. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    The cubes can be used in a reactor, the secret is just to prevent any strong direct flow onto the cubes as that blows out the yeast bacterial food source & wont work anymore...
    http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/showthread.php?t=41684
    Have a look at this thread, i built a special reactor for the cubes with a very small via-aqua (400l/h) pump with an airline which i feed with a airpump into the pumps ventury outlet.
    It really works like a bomb!
    Nitrates from 2 to undetectable in under 2 weeks!
     
  11. SApicoreef

    SApicoreef Thread Starter

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Durban
    should i sell my pellet reactor and get some cash and make a bomb for the cubes

    any suggestions and also who runs a Super Reef Octopus XP skimmer and especially the XP1000
     
  12. DeanT

    DeanT Dean

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Claremont, Cape Town
    I have mine in a reactor with a skimmer pump to create the oxygen bubbles

    Works Perfectly
    I like a clean sump
     
  13. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    The simple answer is... The bomb method works, & it works extremely well. The biopellet reactor was designed & built with high flow output to keep pellets churning. The cubes require a very gentle flow with high amounts of bubbles over them, & the biopellet reactor simply cannot provide that!
     
  14. SApicoreef

    SApicoreef Thread Starter

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Durban
    yeah i agree

    would have to make a special reactor

    not really convinced by the pellets and they do need the reactor

    with the bomb does it have to be next to the skimmer i presume

    the reason i liked the reactor as i could control the output right next to the reactor
     
  15. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,575
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  16. SApicoreef

    SApicoreef Thread Starter

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Durban
    thanks

    think I'm going to do the bomb method right next to the skimmer and the sell the biopellet reactor

    thanks for the help
     
  17. Zuna

    Zuna

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    810
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Regents Park (JHB South)
    hi guys would a zeo rector work for the bio cubes
     
  18. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    depends on which reactor and if they were the only things in it, it COULD work, you will still need the airstone
     
  19. Zuna

    Zuna

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    810
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Regents Park (JHB South)
    mine is a jns shark reactor. its has a screw at the top you can remove and push air line pipe down and let the airstone lay at the bottom under the zeo chamber
     
  20. 3dd

    3dd

    Joined:
    29 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    409
    Likes Received:
    29
    Why don't you just use np pellets as you've got the reactor already, so no need for mods
     
  21. Zuna

    Zuna

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    810
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Regents Park (JHB South)
    i tried np pellets befor on a diferent tank didnt work then. i would lik to see wht the bio cubes does. im currently using zeo's but its to much work and money
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - cubes biopellet reactor Forum Date
Bio-cubes vs bio-pellets???? Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 31 Aug 2016
[wtd] Reef X-Tra-X cubes Wanted 9 May 2016
Reef X-TRA-X Cubes Wild on Pets 17 Jul 2015
Need to remove some mulm from your aquarium, using bio pellets, bio cubes or zeo... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 18 Jun 2015
Have you tried ORCA Bio Cubes and Titanium yet? Share your review on our product... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 7 Jun 2015
Help with Orca nitra quard cubes Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 28 May 2015
Urgent help needed Nitra Guard Bio Cubes corals closing Urgent Help Needed 13 May 2015