Bio Balls vs DSB

Reaction score
Hi

Please help, I need to know what is better Bio Balls or DSB? As im getting quotes for my tank, and LFS tells me Bio. Is there a huge difference between the two and if so what are the pros and cons.
What is preferred by the experienced reefers.
And how can I post pics?

bio balls have no place in a marine system they collect detritus and cause nitrate and amonia spikes often leading to complete tank crashes

go for a 12cm deep sand bed with sugar fine aragonite
make sure there is plenty flow over its surface

bio balls are great for a few months they they are usless dsb lasts forever i used bio filters and bio filter media for a long time and it makes poison in the tank rather than do any good and it is unhealthy

Well, I am no expert but I can tell you that there are no long term benefits to Bio balls that Live Rock cannot achieve in your system, I suggest a few good kilos of lR over Bio Balls as Bio balls tend to really trap detris and raise nitrite levels if they are not maintained on a very regular basis, the DSB methodologies can become complex as it depends on what you are trying to achieve but in my book are miles ahead of Bio balls as DSB's are a natural source of bio-minerals that support life and buffering capabilities, if kept in a refugium they constantly can supply live food and helps water quality with nitrate reduction..

There are many factors to tank into account which I cannot go into detail here, I do suggest a lot of coffee and google but look into for starters .

Depth of sand bed
Type of substrate
Flow over the bed

Wait for the guru's answers but I say dump the Bio Ball idea.

STANDARDSUMP.jpg

tanksetup.jpg

Nice one Kanga !

Thanks for the sketch Kanga