Big fright, luckily everything is ok!

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by pom, 8 Oct 2012.

1. pom

pom

Hi, I am quite new here and so I am still learning how the whole marine thing work.

We went away for Saturday around 11am and fed the fish before we left. Being used to tropical fish and feeding them only once a day and leaving them without food for a day they were fine.

I am feeding my marine fish twice a day and when we got back home yesterday round about 8pm all the fishes look in a bad way, having done a water change just before we left on Saturday, I thought this must be the cause but did a quick check on the parameters and everything seemed fine.

My pair of false percs were looked tired and looked like they just swam to Cape Town and back, the dottyback didnt come out of his hiding place for about 20 minutes after we got back and the worst of the lot was the yellow tail damsel, he just drifted around with the current and finally just lay on the ground at the entrance of the dottyback's cave and after a while he just drifted into the cave, normally the is no chance in hell that the dotty would allow the damsel even get close to his rock...

So the only logical thing I could think of is that they are hungry and so I gave them some food and hoped for the best but this morning I got up every thing was 100% again, even the damsel that I thought was a gonner looked as if nothing was wrong :thumbup:

So I figure that they were just very hungry or they got extremely lonely while we were gone......

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. NADEEM

NADEEM

lets hear what the experts say about this, but i highly doubt the fish were very hungry.
    i feed my fish once a day, there are many times i miss a day and fish are totally fine.
    glad to hear that everything is ok now though, good luck

4. crispin

crispin

Hi pom, welcome to masa its good to have u here:)