best way to run chiller

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by 4age, 11 Oct 2013.

1. 4age

4age

Hu Guys..with summer coming up, I am going to connect my hailea chiller up. I have never used it before as I had it in storage while I had a FOWLR.

whats the best way to run the chiller..I have an outlet running from my return pump which I want to use to feed the chiller..what rate should flow through the chiller be? I assume not too fast as the water needs contact time with chiller

the other question is...can I use that STC 1000 units to run both the chiller and the heater, as I understand that it could save on electricity..but will it effect the lifespan of the equipment? I am planning on going full sps soon so want stable parameters.

Last edited: 11 Oct 2013
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Nur

Nur Starz

After your heater, so if heater malfunctions chiller will save you.
    I switch my heaters off in summer. Actually switched mine off this AM.

4. Quintin

Quintin

I have my chiller setup as a gravity feed back from my Display tank.
    Water is split between a direct line to the sump and the chiller via a ball valve.

5. STC-1000

STC-1000 In Reefers Rehab

Run chiller inline with return via a ballvalve .... In this way the temp will be the same in sump and DT ....I had mine running off a seperate pump runin in chiller and out again into sump, I later found my sumps temp was according my chiller and dt was 2 deg more .... So I run it with return so water cycle is via chiller and temps are equal all over ..... @Nur made a good point,but imo if a heater fails, it fails...chiller wnt save u,instead heater and chiller will run simultaneously and cost u a crap load on elec ....

Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. STC-1000

STC-1000 In Reefers Rehab