Best for fragging - new tank - current tank?

Discussion in 'Fragging Corals' started by Raven, 28 May 2008.

  1. Raven

    Raven

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Howzit guys,
    I want to look at the fragging options, but have a couple of questions..
    1. Should i do the frags in my current tank with the fish ext,
    2. or should i rather invest in a separte tank and system for this purpose?

    Will be cool if someone can give some guidelines regarding the equipment needed for optimal conditions.
    If i'm going for a new tank for fragging then i will probaly use a tank of about 200 to 500 liter. Not sure on the dim yet.

    thanks
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    780
    Well I suppose an ideal tank for fragging would be long and shallow, max 30cm high, if I had to do it I suppose I would just plumb an extra tank into my current system, it worked for me before and if I did it again I doubt I would make it a separate system, then you gotta buy new heaters/pumps/skimmer etc.
     
  4. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I really would like to add the new tank to current system, but the problem is space....:(
     
  5. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    you could maybe design a much smaller tank above your sump but lighting would probably be an issue?:(
     
  6. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    dude,if you have a DSB in your sump you can always add a fragsetup there by placing a light over it
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
  8. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I thought about that, but don't you need alot of flow for the frags - I don't have to much flow in my sump due to the DSB....
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Hi Raven,if you look at mines,ive raised my fragsetup about 10cm over the DSB using eggcrate,i then put one powerhead so that it blows over the fragsetup but not intefering with my DSV|B
     
  10. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    cool - i'll take this as an option....
     
  11. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    good stuff man,you wont go wrong.by the way,the fragsetup was lit by 2* 39W t5 whites and 1 t8 blue
     
  12. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Cool! I first want to test some of the softies... this will be a great starting point.
    Will move to a larger setup once i got the hang of it...
    When can one introduce the frags in the main tank with the fish?
     
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    with softies you dont really need a seprate frag area.just remove your softie frag,attatch to a piece of LR using an elastic band and you sorted,the corals will take about 2 weeks or so to attach itself to the LR
     
  14. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    I'm going to try my Kenia tree first....Its a very scary thought to cut my precious...
     
  15. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    no its pretty simple to cut through.just make sure you frag out of the tank ;)
     
  16. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Hi -just some feedback and more questions...
    I've devided the kenia tree into tree today - hope that all will be ok with it.
    I have 3 separate leather finger corals on one piece of rock - I want to remove two of these, but they are attached to the rock - how is the best way to get them of this rock, or is it better to break the rock into 3 pieces?
    thanks
     
  17. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,984
    Likes Received:
    780
    You could break the rock or you could just cut them off, although if you cut them you will more than llikely will get new growths from what is left behind.
     
  18. Raven

    Raven Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Alberton
    Thanks - I'll try it with one of the pieces for now... Will try the other later on..
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Best fragging tank Forum Date
Best Looking FOWLR Tanks Fish Only Tanks, Predator Tanks 31 Oct 2016
Best care ID Needed 2 Oct 2016
Best place for plumbing supplies in Gauteng Anything DIY Related 15 Aug 2016
Best way for curing live rock General Discussions and Advice 18 Jun 2016
Best way to level a tank Beginner Discussions 17 Jun 2016
BEST BUY SPECIALS this WEEKEND @ ALL OUR AQUARIA-SA STORES Sponsor Specials 28 Apr 2016
Best Eco lighting solution Lighting 5 Apr 2016