Beginning of my dream hopefully

Discussion in 'Medium Tanks' started by RynoParsons, 17 Oct 2012.

1. RynoParsons

RynoParsons

So this is the tank i want to convert into marine. im getting 2XMH units end of the month im wondering must i use a sump or can i use my canister? Also what skimmers ect will b e okay for my tank? im on a very low budget? [​IMG]

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. mariusmeyer

mariusmeyer

A sump is preferable as it allows you to hide away all the ugly equipment. Best is to get that tank drilled and get a small sump. You can still use the canister filter for stuff like carbon phosphate remover and some other forms of chemical filtration.

4. RynoParsons

RynoParsons Thread Starter

thanx the tank is already drilled ;) i feel very stupid at the moment still. i have no experience with a sump at
    all. inside the cabinet there is only space for a 2ft sump? or i will have to renovate the cabinet( cut the support in the middel of the cabinet to fit a 3ft sump?

5. mariusmeyer

mariusmeyer

If the cabinet has a center support running from front to back you could add a second sump on the other side. A few people have done this in the past. You just make 2 X 50mm holes in the side of both sumps and through the centre support and connect them together.

6. RynoParsons

Okay cool. i can buy 2 ready made sumps for that then the one thing this tank is freashwater at the moment and its open top. the water temp goes up to 29 during the day its way to warm? i will also be scouting the forum for 2nd hand equipment to start it up. im a student that begins my working careeer next year so money is very limited :) im amazed by the setup you guys have.

7. NADEEM

NADEEM

OH YEAH MAN, im so happy you here and gettig into marine. this is the rite place bru, all the help and advice you need is here.good luck, NICE TANK.

8. RynoParsons

thanx Nadeem :) yes i have a long way to go and need the worlds advice haha

9. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator