Beginners setup

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Charming Charl, 3 Dec 2012.

1. Charming Charl

Charming Charl

Hi Guyz….
    As some of you might know, I’m new to the MASA forum. Thus far I’m impressed with the articles, threads, ect that I read thus far.
    Now for a new thread J

So I’m thinking of having a small marine tank build for myself.

Dimensions 1.2m (L)
    400 (W)
    500 (H)

If my calculations are correct, this would be a 240 liter tank.
    Just wanting to hold livestock as a beginner and later move onto coral keeping.

Now the fun part, questionsJ
    1 How big must my sump be for this size, or capacity tank and how many divisions in the sump?
    I read that a sump should be able to run half the capacity of the main setup. Is this correct?

2 Would the sump overflows with a power outage for example?
    I read that a method to prevent this would be to install an overflow box. How exactly does this work?

3 Beside a Protein skimmer, wave maker, return pump, suitable heater, what other equipment are needed to setup this tank?
    Also what start up chemicals is required to setup this tank?

4 Can I hold livestock such as Clown fish with artificial coral before going onto real coral?

5 What are ideal beginner fish to start off with for a marine tank?

Thanx in advance for the necessary feed back and time you took to read this thread.

Kind Regards
    Charl

Last edited: 3 Dec 2012
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Welcome to the forum. :)
    Your sump can be as big or as small as you want, it all depends on where it's going, ideally you want to make it as big as you can as more water volume is better plus it can hold all of your equipment. Here is a thread to give you some ideas - BASIC Sump Design - Illustrated - Marine Aquariums South Africa