Beginner - Liverock Aiptasia question

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Potions, 4 Jul 2011.

1. Potions

Potions

Hi guys

I'm new to the adventurous (best word I could find apart from scary) world of keeping marine aquariums. I've done a lot of research, bought a book called The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner and done lots of internet research (including MASA ;)) on keeping a marine aquarium. I just got an opportunity to start a tank for myself through a friend wanting to sell his setup. Its a boyu TL-550. I would have preferred a 40 or 50 gallon rectangular tank more as heard more water the easier it is to keep. But for the price of the setup I have to go for this.

Basically my question is to do with the liverock I will be getting from my friend. My initial idea was to store it in a 20 ltr bucket premixed salt water with a small heater and airstone, but I've been reading up on Aiptasia and my friend says he has a some Aiptasia on his liverock. I've read these things are a nuisance to get rid of, so I was wondering if it would be best to potentially let the liverock dry out and then 'recure' the liverock in my new tank and seed it with a new small piece of liverock from the aquarist store (sams), thereby getting rid of the Aiptasia without fear of a reprisal :unhappy:?

So my basic questions are:
    1. Should I dry out the liverock to get rid of the aiptasia and then recure it in my new tank?
    2. Will this work? And if so how long do I need to dry the rock out for?
    3. Is there anything else I would need to do to the liverock (like boil it or something?)
    4. Is there a better way?

Thanks a lot
    Much appreciated on the answers.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Charl_Stanhope

Charl_Stanhope