Basic sump layout

Apollo

Clownfish
Joined
25 Sep 2008
Posts
1,123
Reaction score
71
Location
Fourways
Greetings to all ,

Thanks for all the help and info so far.

OK. So now I have started looking at my sump design and the general layout thereof.

This is what I have come up with in terms of my sump design. The sump is approx 60 liters and I will most likely use a Reeftek skimmer . I have decided to use filter wool for the first compartment to aid the mechanical filtering , before passing thorugh the skimmer and then on to the DSB. Lastly, I have decided to have a compartment with activated carbon/charcoal before finally returning the water to the display tank.

Any comments , suggestions or advise on the sump design would be appreciated

(I had to attach the pic as a MS Word file, since it is a drawn image. Hope you can read it)
 

Attachments

moz

Chromis
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
638
Reaction score
4
Location
Port Elizabeth
First question, whats the intake pump for, the skimmer? and what is above the intake pump filter floss? If it is remember to clean/change it regularly.

Can't tell from the sketch, but how are you going to put the carbon in, remember it has to be changed regularly, so a filter bag/stocking helps. The basic layout is fine as the order is correct mechanical (skimmer), biological (DSB) the Chemical (Carbon)
 

jacquesb

Retired Moderator
Joined
29 May 2007
Posts
17,868
Reaction score
71
Location
Cape Town
Hi Apollo - As Moz said - you do not require an "intake pump". The water should be gravity fed from your tank. Even if you don't have your tank drilled - you should then have a siphon overflow that "hangs-on" to your tank.... Have a look at Tom's tank in the member's setups. He posted an AWESOME overflow idea, which he created WITHOUT drilling his Jebo tank...

BUT - if you tank is going to be drilled, you DEFINITELY do not require a pump to get the water from the tank to the sump......
 

Apollo

Clownfish
Joined
25 Sep 2008
Posts
1,123
Reaction score
71
Location
Fourways
Moz - The intake pump was originally intended to pump water from the main tank to the sump. I had not envisaged drilling the main tank, so I would need some way to "suck" water from the tank. Jaquesb is correct however : Using a siphon from the main tank will do the job just fine.
The filter floss I intend to change on a 3-4 daily basis. The carbon will be contained in pouches or stocking etc.
 

Reef Inmate

Hermit Crab
Joined
14 Aug 2007
Posts
190
Reaction score
2
Location
Amanzimtoti
Howzit Apollo. You should have some type of overflow in you tank to drain the water to the sump. Then I would do the layout something like this.

29348df418fd447e.jpg


You can either build your own overflow into your tank or buy one. If you don't want to drill you could use something like this which works ona siphon and clips on the side of your tank:


29348df4278039bf.jpg



This sump design can be expanded as you grow and your aquarium develops:


29348df430eefa75.jpg


Hope this helps
 

Tobes

Retired Moderator
Joined
30 Nov 2007
Posts
9,482
Reaction score
119
Location
A Beautiful place!
Hi Apollo, I would suggest making your DSB 150mm(min 6 inches) rather than 120mm. On the carbon issue, The guys will let you in on that more, but I know that you get a new product called Chem-elite or something like that, it also removes nitrates and phosphates apparently and only needs to be changed 4-6 monthly I think. Some of the sponsors stocks it ;)
 

Apollo

Clownfish
Joined
25 Sep 2008
Posts
1,123
Reaction score
71
Location
Fourways
Leigh, Tobes - Thanks for the info. Quick question : Is the UV sterilizer a neccessity at this point , or can it be added later? Also , I have seen some members using a chiller as part of their setup. Forgive my ignorance... but what would be the purpose of the chiller in a place like JHB ?
 

Reef Inmate

Hermit Crab
Joined
14 Aug 2007
Posts
190
Reaction score
2
Location
Amanzimtoti
I personally don't use UV sterilizers but some folks like to so the option is there. Chillers are to keep the temperature from going to high. Depending on your system and lighting it could get to high during the summer months in Jhb.
 

Tobes

Retired Moderator
Joined
30 Nov 2007
Posts
9,482
Reaction score
119
Location
A Beautiful place!
Leigh, Tobes - Thanks for the info. Quick question : Is the UV sterilizer a neccessity at this point , or can it be added later? Also , I have seen some members using a chiller as part of their setup. Forgive my ignorance... but what would be the purpose of the chiller in a place like JHB ?
Just remember that your tank must run between 24-28 deg and should the outside temp be higher than that, your tank temp will climb if you don't have any method of cooling like a chiller. Also your lights is a big factor, metal halides get extremely hot, especially in an enclosed area. Your pumps can also add a bit of heat ;)
You don't have to get a chiller, some guys use fans for evaporation and cooling :)
 
Top