Barlan's new aquaria 1500

Discussion in 'Large Tanks' started by Barlan, 5 Sep 2013.

  1. Barlan

    Barlan

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Hi guys & gals

    Finally decided to start a thread on the new tank i got about 3 weeks ago.

    Its the Aquaria 1500 with controller. Dimensions are 1500 x 600 x 820 for the DT, im not sure on the sump dimensions. Total system volume is about 800L.

    This is my first tank with a sump so i'll have a few questions for you guys :D Upgraded from the RSM 130D. Really enjoying the tank setup :D

    Thanks to @Aquaria-SA for the tank and shipping it up from Ballito, to @bryan for all his advice and products, and @jimilutz for his advice and tweaks for the system. Still got a long way to go, here are some pics so long.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I have a question about the sump and the level in it. I have linked 2 pics, the first one is with the return pump off and the 2nd is with it on. Is my water level fine?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jimilutz

    jimilutz

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Randburg
    The max water level marking on the return section is for the skimmer operation. If you go above that the skimmer will go into overdrive occasionally and then all the skim mate returns to your tank.
     
  4. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    @jimilutz, thanks man. Ill be draining some water out tonight to get it to that level :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Yo all

    Tank is up and running, busy cycling. Im looking for some cheato algea, if anyone can help me out. I live in the randburg area.

    Is there any harm in putting it in while cycling? possibly there wouldnt be enough "food" to sustain them. im not sure :D

    As always thanks for the help :D
     
  6. jimilutz

    jimilutz

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Randburg
    I can give you some calupra if you want. It grows fairly well in my sump it was in the DT until I got tangs and they ate it all. The biggest reason I think people avoid it is some people have had it go sexual but I have not had such an incident in a year. The one nice things about it is that it does not float about and does not have to be rotated .I live in Blairgowrie.
     
  7. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Yo all

    A little update on the tank. Tank finished cycling about 2 weeks ago. Moved my fish over from my previous tank and my torch coral.

    I want to have sps in this tank so i needed to upgrade the lighting. The radion gen 1 special caught my eye and i ended up getting some of them. I needed to make a mounting for them however, @mornewil got me on the right path and im pretty pleased with the results. The mounting is made from aluminium angle, pop riveted together, primed and then given a couple of coats with black enamel.

    Here are some pics of the mounting and setup

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. jimilutz

    jimilutz

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Randburg
    Looking promising. Did you come right with the chaeto? What have you done with the sump?
     
  9. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Hi Jimiliutz, yeah we have cheato in the sump. im thinking of moving over to nitra guard bio cubes though. The sump is setup as per the advice from Lawrence at Aquaria, got my overflow, then skimmer, followed by the cheato with the live rock rubble. This is also where i keep the pod condos. Then 2 heaters and lastly the return.

    Ive got some purigen and seachem seagel in there as well. so far everything is going well :D will keep the thread updated as i go
     
  10. Ruberto Frazao

    Ruberto Frazao Sponsor

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    Personally i would gou with a pellet reactor... i love it... works very well and stable...
     
  11. shan

    shan

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    centurion
    Nice setup you have there
     
  12. TheWaterboy

    TheWaterboy Sponsor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Durban
    id also go with a pellet reactor and NP-pellets
     
  13. Hammerhead

    Hammerhead

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    950
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Westville , Durban
    Orca cubes in a bomb for me. Hassle free, no reactors etc, simple and effective
     
  14. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Thanks for the advice guys, suppose the pellets and the cubes both accomplish the same thing at the end of the day. leaning more towards the cubes but will see in like 3 weeks when i make the decision :D
     
  15. mornewil

    mornewil Morne

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Retreat, Cape Town
    Looking good. Bracket came out awesome. Tell me how sturdy is it. Did you put cross braces in between lights?
     
  16. Barlan

    Barlan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Feb 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Randburg, johannesburg
    Hi @mornewil, There are 2 cross braces in between the lights. So far seems pretty sturdy, we will see how it goes, if it looks like its sagging we'll have to add some legs in the middle for support. Hoping it wont come to that though.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  17. mornewil

    mornewil Morne

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Retreat, Cape Town
    Cool yeah just keep an eye. Was just wondering coz didnt see any braces on first pic. But i checked the last one now and see them:thumbup:
     
    Last edited: 25 Oct 2013
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Barlan's aquaria 1500 Forum Date
10 WET N WILD Specials @ Aquaria this weekend Sponsor Specials 10 Nov 2016
More exciting things at Your Aquaria store Sponsor Specials 30 Sep 2016
[wtd] Aquaria magic wave 37 skimmer pump Wanted 24 Sep 2016
Aquaria 100l Beginner Discussions 10 Sep 2016
Spring Specials at Aquaria-SA Sponsor Specials 2 Sep 2016
My Aquaria AMW 37 Nano Tank advice 25 Aug 2016
PICS OF MY 1 Metre Aquaria.reef Large Tanks 3 Aug 2016