Ballast problem (I think)

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by magman, 2 Oct 2009.

  1. magman

    magman

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    I tried connecting a dual T5 ballast and a pair of globes. The problem is that when you switch the power on, both tubes start illuminating from the one end, for about 1 second then both go out without illuminating the whole tube. Do you think the problem is with the ballast not being able to support both? it is a 2 xT5, 54w.

    wirining is like this from the ballast
    pos 1 &2 to one end of 1st T5
    pos 3 to one point on opposite end of 1st T5
    pos 5 to one point on opposite end of 2nd T5
    pos 6&7 to one end on 2nd T5
    1 wire connect spare links on opposite end of tubes.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Magman, my one 80 W also did this....I swapped in another globe and the problem was fixed, maybe the globes ?
     
  4. magman

    magman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    They do both start luminating though, they just don't power up.
     
  5. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Mine did the same ...power up, runs about 10 cm of length then just dies. Maybe try with your other globes
     
  6. vis

    vis

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    centurion
    Mine did it as well, my problem was sorted when i switched it on and off about 3-4 times eventually it worked....worth a try. any other balast close to that one ?
     
  7. inflames

    inflames

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    923
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Randparkridge (Johannesburg)
    I reckon the globes...probably just one of them!
     
  8. davidfr7

    davidfr7

    Joined:
    1 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West rand
    do these globes have starters little plastic things with two pins maybe just swap those a new is R7 ?
     
  9. vis

    vis

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    centurion
    it sounds like electronic ballast wich wont have a starter of that kind. maybe get a test the voltage with a volt/amp meter- the digital ones works well
     
  10. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    are you absolutely sure there is not a loose wire somewhere ?

    if no loose wire, try swopping out one glode as the guys said !
     
  11. Afsal

    Afsal

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    My bet is that one of the tubes is faulty ....
     
  12. magman

    magman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    re did the wiring 3x
     
  13. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Wont start & then die on a wiring problem....

    Still convinced its a faulty globe
     
  14. vis

    vis

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    centurion
    thickness of the wire from ballast to globe plug also have an effect
     
  15. AndrévN

    AndrévN

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,840
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Springs
    Sounds like a globe to me, try swopping them around with each other. Have you wigled them at all. Cause if one globe does not work the other wont start. You do not need a starter if its an electronic ballast though.
     
  16. magman

    magman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    The plot thickens, I went to a friends house, connected all to the exact same model ballist, still the same problem, then took the globes to the local bath water LFS, tested on a single ballast, only one tube working!!!!!!!! Bought another new and tested it works. Went to recoonect to see the light, and bam, still the same problem, has to be the wiring or an end cap. Have got an electrician coming later to look.
     
  17. magman

    magman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    turned out it was an end cap that was not connecting, and the one tube, took an electrician and his test kit to find the fault.....:whistling:
     
  18. inflames

    inflames

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    923
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Randparkridge (Johannesburg)
    Problem solved!!!
     
  19. Slummies

    Slummies

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    4
    i have the same problem.... going to get mine fixed this week!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Ballast problem think) Forum Date
Looking for an odysee 24w T5 ballast Wanted 14 Nov 2016
where to get PL ballasts and fittings? Lighting 13 Dec 2015
[wtd] 250W Metal Halide Ballast Wanted 7 Oct 2015
[wtd] 80w T5 ballast Wanted 17 Mar 2015
[wtd] 80w BALLAST Wanted 12 Jul 2014
[wtd] 250W Metal Halide Ballast Wanted 23 Jun 2014
[wtd] Dual 39w t5 ballast Wanted 5 Jun 2014