auto topup unit

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by nim, 4 Sep 2013.

  1. nim

    nim

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    where do you think would be the best place to install the auto topup unit.
    when i started my tank i installed it in my sump, but one day (thank goodness it was while my tank was still cycling) we had a power failure while i was at work and when i got home i realised that when the power came back on, for some reason it pumped all the ro water from my ro container into the sump. i uninstalled it and don't trust it anymore.
    any idees?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. zak

    zak

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    768
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
  4. nim

    nim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    thanks for link, but dude i'm a lady, i don't understand electrical stuff. i need plug&play.:tt2:
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    Dudette :p What unit have you got, is it a DIY one or a store bought one?
     
  6. nim

    nim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    lol, i'm not sure, i bought it from a fellow reefer, but to me it looks like a diy thing
     
  7. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    how about a picture
     
  8. nim

    nim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    ok, i'll take one tonight
     
  9. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    generally the atu should be installed in the last chamber of your sump (return chamber)
     
  10. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    777
    Yeah, post a photo of it, you might be able to adapt it to prevent that from happening again, an ATU is such a nice piece of equipment to have for peace of mind, normally, lol.
     
  11. WarrenElvis

    WarrenElvis

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Posts:
    613
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Durban
  12. Furbz

    Furbz

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sandton
  13. WarrenElvis

    WarrenElvis

    Joined:
    31 May 2011
    Posts:
    613
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Durban
    Sounds like one of those RC Cars, but goes on for about 10-20sec intervals during the course of the day
     
  14. Furbz

    Furbz

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sandton
    the pump actually reminds me of a boats bilge pump! - lol serious overkill for a ATU
     
  15. nim

    nim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    Hope pic is not to bad

    20130904_210458.jpg
     
  16. Snoek

    Snoek

    Joined:
    12 May 2013
    Posts:
    926
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Edgemead
    That looks like a reef octpus otu unit. Did the the power supply get wet when this happened? I have one (reef octo) and when eskom decided to be nasty to my tank and put the power off, the skimmer messed water all over the power supply. This made the unit pump all the RO in to the tank.
     
  17. Trasique

    Trasique tahir

    Joined:
    2 May 2012
    Posts:
    369
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    cape town
    @nim Remove that bottle top from the float switch or at least check that the float is not rubbing against it.
    That ATU comes with a bottle over the float to stop snails from getting to it, but IME causes more harm then good.
    Sometimes the bottle moves and hampers the movement of the float itself, then "voila a water change with RO".
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  18. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    I can also recommend the Tunze unit! Expensive, but super reliable!
     
  19. Cabrinha

    Cabrinha

    Joined:
    12 Feb 2013
    Posts:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durbanville, Cape Town
    i have the Tunze aswell, worth every cent!
     
  20. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    I'm using the SAGA ATU. Got 4 of them.

    What I really like about them is that you can set the time to do the job. 1 minute, 2 or 3. If top float not reached in time, it stops and sounds an alarm. Cannot dump all the RO into the tank due to a stuck float. And it cannot burn out a pump in a dry ATU chamber. They not cheap either, over 1000.
     
  21. nim

    nim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    24 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mosselbay
    @Snoek , no there where no water spilled, i think what happened was i had it installed in the return pump chamber and maybe when the power came back on the return pump pumped more water out to quick and there could have been less water in return chamber than usual. i don't know.

    but now i would like to keep it where it is at the moment, in the middle chamber, because that waterlevel can not get lower than a specific level. i just dont know if the water evaporates, where will it first be noticed. in the sump or tank. am i making any sence? i was thinking the water is evaporating from 3 places, the sump, return champer and the tank. is it good enough to have it in only one part.
    at the moment like i said its in the middel chamber, but its unplugged as i don't trust it. every evening with feeding time i turn off the return pump and when the water in completely drained out of the overflow i turn it on and watch it. when it reach its level and stops i unplug it again and switch return pump back on again. this is exhausting. so i have desided that i either use is as i should or sell it.
    hope i make sence.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - auto topup unit Forum Date
[wtd] Auto Topup Unit Wanted 9 Dec 2013
Auto topup unit ► Sponsor Request Forum 13 Jul 2009
How to fit your Auto Topup if you have a controllable return pump Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 15 Jul 2015
[wtd] Decently priced auto topup or mechanical float switch Wanted 6 May 2015
Auto topup wanted... Wanted 17 Apr 2012
Wanted Refractometer, Auto Topup & Auto Feeder Wanted 15 Jan 2011
auto topup device but ?? General Discussions and Advice 21 Jun 2010