Auto Top up for Multiple Tanks

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by FransSny, 30 Mar 2010.

  1. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Being the lazy bugger that I am , I hate topping up manually. Does anyone have an idea how I can connect 1 auto top up unit to 3 different tanks , being fed from centralised RO cannister ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    3 Float switches, 3 pumps and one RO drum
     
  4. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    Well if all 3 tanks run with one sump then you'll need one float switch and pump. If 3 sumps, then 3 float switches and 3 pumps pumping out a centralised container to top up each individual sump.
     
  5. FransSny

    FransSny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Thanks guys, the 3 pump, 3 float switch thing i understand...was hoping there is a way to do 3 floats...one pump
     
  6. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    heavens you are lazy....just open another two ATU units off the shelf, easy really :)
     
  7. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    Profilux
     
  8. FransSny

    FransSny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    too stingy SIMS ;)

    LOL crispin....please see my reply to SIMS

    No seriously I was just wondering if anyone has done something like this before
     
  9. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    there is another option

    I am no guru on this but there are valves controlled by solonoids (SP)

    you could connect a float switch to a solonoid and to the pump perhaps that way when level drops the pump is activated and the valve opened and the water topped off .... because the other pipe lines valves are closed the other tanks would not get water ...

    but at R125 a valve it is prob better to have 3 pumps
     
  10. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    Run a CLS in ring format from your RO reservoir back into RO.
    From this ring at each tank have a T with a solenoid valve actuated by the float in each tank. Having constant movement on your RO will help with slimy buildup but the main idea is to cater for when two or more tanks top-up at the same time.
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Frans - YES, you SHOULD be able to do this, IF your piping/plumbing has ball-/gate-valves in, that you can adjust and "fine tune" the water flow from the pump (else you will have a LOT of water going out the 1st outlet, and very little out the other outlets)...

    Also - you will need a strong pump with a really decent "head" to achieve this.
     
  12. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    ....another idea.
    Raise the RO tank to above all the other tanks, then run a pipe from RO tank to each tank that needs top-up, use the float-switch and solenoid setup, this way you dont need a pump and cater for multiple top-up at same time.
     
  13. FransSny

    FransSny Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    AHA ..this could work :thumbup: Thanks Neo
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    neo's got it, but instead of float switches and solenoids you could use small float valves instead, like the toilet cistern types or are they called stockman valves?, should be a lot cheaper.
     
  15. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    toilet valves dont last i.m.o.
    stockman might be to bulky but it will last,
    there's another type made by an SA company, they use it for auto topup of swimming pools ant pet water bowls, got a very good warrenty, i'l try and get the name/web site for you.
     
  16. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    here we go, knew i had it bookmarked somewhere
    http://www.aqua-brooks.co.za/
    cheap, R210 for 3 units including postage in SA, and gets cheaper the more you buy,
    just check the size first,
    and have a look at the return policy, realy great.
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Get your kids to do it, they need justification for their pocket money...:)
     
  18. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    you could but then you would have to have valve to control the flow, better off to go with 3 pumps!
     
  19. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    i prefer three pumps ,no latent pressure or pressure build up. or need to elevate ro drum
     
  20. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    by the way frans if you know how to make the top ups cool, if not give me a shout and we can build them together, its reasonably easy
     
  21. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB

    Very Very Smart, thanks for the link ....... Massive bonus is that there is only one moving part !!! Less chance of failure !!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Auto Multiple Tanks Forum Date
[wtd] jebao dp4 auto dosing pump Wanted 22 Nov 2016
RO auto shut off valve ► Sponsor Request Forum 16 Nov 2016
EHEIM Auto Feeders In Stock Pet Lovers Emporium 14 Nov 2016
[wtd] Auto top up Wanted 14 Nov 2016
[wtd] Eheim auto feeder Wanted 8 Nov 2016
DIY AUTO TOP UP Anything DIY Related 8 Sep 2016
Auto Top Up Anything DIY Related 30 Aug 2016