Auto save on posting

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions and Feedback' started by Nemos Janitor, 31 Oct 2012.

  1. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    I now remember why I post one liners.:whistling:

    The amount of times i have spent precious time typing out a post and then it disappears, with no recovery, is extremely discouraging.



    Any chance of a auto save like in outlook or similar. Please...
     
    Last edited: 31 Oct 2012
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    I am giving up. My posts/PM's are disappearing then double posts then the recipient receives the post that disappeared, then he received another shortened version of the first PM that i retyped then another PM go's nowhere. Don't know where this post will go. hopefully i don't have to retype.

    SUCKS IMO




    Well that one worked, at least i don't have to retype. :)
     
    Last edited: 31 Oct 2012
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,157
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    What I do, especially on longer posts. Just before I hit that POST button, I do a CTRL+A, CTRL+C
    at least it is then in my clipboard.

    Another reason might be that you posted this thread some time after midnight... You should be sleeping. :whistling:
     
  5. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Riaan, The reason i was typing late was because i type by poking the keyboard with one finger on each hand, had to retype things over and over many times. ;)

    So when members get a response longer than one line they should consider themselves very privileged. :whistling:

    This post is longer than one line. :biggrin:
     
  6. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    I can implement something like that but really you need to be looking at why you're having these problems. Just like green hair algae, treat the cause :tt2:

    How do your posts disappear? Do you forget to click the Post Reply button and then move onto another page?
     
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    if you use google chrome, it autosaves i think
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Dean i don't know what happens. I am busy typing then in the middle of the post it just disappears. Last night i was responding to a PM and the post disappeared. looked for it, tried the back and forward arrow. Nothing. Went back to the PM and posted a sorry will call you in the morning to explain. The reefer then responded to the disappeared post. I then replied and again the post disappeared. Could not find that one. Hence this thread.

    I did learn to copy long posts to my clipboard before posting. It had happened before. But now it is happening in the middle of typing.

    I also resorted to type in WORD then copy and paste. But then the spacing gos out and one has to edit the post to correct.

    Just thought it would be more user friendly if we could have a auto save.
     
  9. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    I think there is something seriously wrong with your laptop. Posts disappear while you are typing??? Sounds like a Whisky problem to me :lol:
     
  10. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Errrrr..... it also happened to me yesterday from my iPad. Nearly poked my finger through the screen in frustration.

    The little fishy thing does not always show when you hit the reply button. Frightened to loose the post the reply button is hit a few times. So this causes the double post issue. Not sure if the two are related.
     
  11. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    Ok, well I've implemented a sort of autosave feature, if you type something into the reply box in a thread or a PM and accidentally go to another page, just click back or navigate to the same page again and your text should all still be there.

    It is tested and working on Firefox 16, IE9 and Chrome 22, not sure if it will work on an iPad though. Try it, type something into the reply box here but don't click reply, then go to another website then come back to masa and back to this thread and your text should still be there.
     
  12. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    :smooch:

    Dean it does not work on my LT using IE will test on Firefox.
     
    Last edited: 1 Nov 2012
  13. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Dean for some reason MASA wont load on Firefox. Well the header loads but the content does not.

    OK a little popup came up. Will upgrade to ver 16 and try again.
     
  14. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Still will not load with Fire fox??
     
  15. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Yes Dean it worked on Firefox. But MASA takes forever to load. Maybe because you are making changes.

    Will try again later.
     
  16. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    I think you need a new laptop.
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,157
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    serious

    it works.... NICE.

    NJ, do a CTRL+F5, total refresh of the page.
     
  18. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Must be something wrong with my version of IE. How do i check what version i have?
     
  19. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    OK it is IE9 64bit Edition.
     
  20. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,983
    Likes Received:
    778
    Yip, it's javascript so you may need to clear your cache or just do what Riaan said, but clearing your cache would be better.
     
  21. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    OK with firefox the auto save works like a bomb. Except it takes forever to load.

    Did the F5 thing and it did load a bit quicker. Will clear cookies and cash at see what happens.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Auto save posting Forum Date
[wtd] jebao dp4 auto dosing pump Wanted 22 Nov 2016
RO auto shut off valve ► Sponsor Request Forum 16 Nov 2016
EHEIM Auto Feeders In Stock Pet Lovers Emporium 14 Nov 2016
[wtd] Auto top up Wanted 14 Nov 2016
[wtd] Eheim auto feeder Wanted 8 Nov 2016
DIY AUTO TOP UP Anything DIY Related 8 Sep 2016
Auto Top Up Anything DIY Related 30 Aug 2016