ATU options

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Kingfish, 26 Jan 2016.

  1. Kingfish

    Kingfish

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban
    Hi,

    Can anyone assist in explaining why ATU's are rated according to gallons or litres, can an ATU rated for 50 gallon be used on a 90 gallon tank

    Thanks,
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Juan27

    Juan27

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    510
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Westrand
    Are we talking Auto Top Up units?
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,157
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    An ATU should only top up a little but of water each time it runs. Percentage wise I never though about how much exactly. I got the SEGA unit and the two sensors are placed relatively close to each other. From the time it hits the lowest float switch. It must trigger the top float switch within a minute, else an alarm will sound. Mine is set to a minute. The SEGA can do 1, 2 or 3 minutes, or no timer option.

    Due to it being a relay switch, you can use any 220V pump on it, regardless of size.

    You do not want your ATU to fill 5% or more of your system volume every time it runs. Reason for ATU is to keep the salinity as stable as possible.
     
    tekkengal likes this.
  5. Toolboysa

    Toolboysa Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel
    Im assuming they are referring to the flow output of the pump of the auto top up unit. You can use any size as long as it can do the head height you require
     
  6. Kingfish

    Kingfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban
    Thanks guys, Auto Top Off is correct,

    I will have a sump with bucket for top up water which is next to sump so i presume no need to worry about head height, is that correct as the water level is measured in the sump if i am correct

    So can i use say a Tunze 3152 on a 330 litre tank, need something easy to connect , sorry but new to setting up a sump
     
  7. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,157
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Yes your ATU can fill up directly into the sump. It is the preferred method. Less head height back pressure.

    Just ensure that the end point of the pipe is higher than the full mark on RO chamber. Else it will keep on siphoning after the pump switched off.
     
  8. Hammerhead

    Hammerhead

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    950
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Westville , Durban
    Just a note. I had a reef octo atu and had to change to a tunze when I connected a kalk stirrer as the reef octo could not feed through the non return valve as the pump was too small. So choose accordingly.
     
  9. Kingfish

    Kingfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban
    Thanks for reply guys,

    @Hammerhead, hows your experience with the tunze atu
     
  10. Hammerhead

    Hammerhead

    Joined:
    12 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    950
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Westville , Durban
    When tank was running it was fine. I haven't used it in a while so maybe others can jog my memory on its safety options. I think it has 2 safety protocols. 1 is a high water level alarm to alert you that your return is higher than normal. Cause for this is usually the level sensor is dirty or has calcium build up. 2 is a timed output. If I'm not mistaken the pump comes on for 1 minute and usually the level sensor is reached and will shut off the pump within this minute if not it cuts off the pump. I may be a bit rusty on the safety protocols so if @George can chip in.

    I've had 2 issues since using it. 1 the pump us not self priming so once the level in my reservoir was too low and I ended up burning the pump. Some have used the 12v replacement pump from camping stores as I think those are self priming. I just invert the pump to release air bubbles if its exposed to air. 2 was the calcium build up on the level sensor which caused it to not top up. I was dosing kalk in the same chamber as the sensor. Once I routinely maintained by rinsing in some vinegar it was all fine.

    Tunze also makes a nano version but I think the timed output is the difference.

    If someone can comment on the safety protocols it will put my mind at ease
     
  11. George

    George Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    3152 only for 200 LITRE
    3155 the one for you the main sensor is a priority optical sensor. Incase of occurring problem a safety float switch shuts the unit off and sounds an alarm. If that fails to safety circuitry shuts off the pump after 10 minutes. This product has been on the market since 1985.
     
  12. Darren24

    Darren24

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Durban
    Good day,

    can you give us some pricing on you ATU units.
     
  13. George

    George Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm not sure if I can post prices here perhaps a moderator will see this and let me know send Anita@aqua-africa.co.za a request and she will assist asap with a quote.
     
  14. Darren24

    Darren24

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Durban
    i have sent an email. thanks
     
  15. Kingfish

    Kingfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban
    @Hammerhead , thanks for the input, much appreciated


    @George ,Why is it that you cant post prices here on the forum, plus lots of other people will be interested and dont want o ask via PM,but please PM me prices as well 3155 ... also why cant a 3152 be used ?

    thanks
     
  16. George

    George Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am a sponsor and I would hate to upset another sponsor. I can post on my own thread, Etiquette is important. Unlike some people who bulldozer there way into peopled pockets.The 3152 was designed for a system of 200. Liters only because of safety parameters. Current price for 3152 is R 1700.00 inclusive and 3155 is 3152.00 inclusive. Sorry I can't pm you from my phone.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - options Forum Date
1.2m overflow options General Discussions and Advice 4 Mar 2016
Skimmer Options - AM102 Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 3 Mar 2016
Advice on stocking options Marine Fish Discussions 28 Jan 2016
Stand options for AMW102 Nano Tank advice 14 Dec 2015
Stand options Beginner Discussions 19 Oct 2015
protein skimmer options Beginner Discussions 11 Sep 2015
Upgrading to LED - top options anyone? Lighting 23 May 2015