Assumptions

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Oopkrane, 12 Sep 2013.

1. Oopkrane

Oopkrane

I am new to the marine aquarium hobby and would like your opinion on the following statement:
    All LFS staff/owners assume that marine/reef aquarium owners are millionaires and have unlimited budgets?

Last edited by a moderator: 12 Sep 2013
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. regis

regis

It is just an expensive hobby, look rather on the forsale forums

4. Seabass

Seabass

No I don't think so, you set a budget and stick to it. If you exceed your budget them this is going to be an unpleasant hobby.

Last edited: 12 Sep 2013
  5. butcherman

butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

false

6. Fuzzy

Fuzzy

my 2c ... you can do and use what works for you,your tank and your pocket....or...you can try to keep up with the joneses .... i use what works for me...

7. pkc

pkc

It's a load of rubbish, this hobby can be quite cheap for you to enjoy something that's quite impressive.

8. regis

regis

Well, what is classified as cheap, cheap to one person might be expensive to another

9. Evo R

Evo R

Its yes and no.

But its basically the same as golf. If you need the latest and best new gadgets every month you better have deep pockets!!! Otherwise save up or look in the for sale section for great bargains and work from there.

10. regis

regis

I agree

11. RiaanP

RiaanP Moderator

So by this theory the same applies to all staff at Golf Shops

12. seank

seank

If you cannot afford the hobby, then do not start the hobby. There is life at risk, incl yours if your mrs find your till slips.
    That being said.... Go for basics, leave the techno stuff for the people who can afford them.
    Btw, I am sticking to the basics.
    Ohhh, if ever you go into a LFS...... Wear tattered clothes and be barefoot. They will not bother you...

13. the fish

the fish

false. built up my system for under 2000.

14. Oopkrane

Oopkrane Thread Starter