Are all Nano's created equal

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Dimi943, 5 Jan 2016.

1. Dimi943

Dimi943

Hi guys.

I'm not a complete newbie to the marine setup but have been out of the game for a couple of years now. I'm looking to get back in but just want to start small, slow and relatively simple for the time being.

I'm interested in purchasing a Nano plug and play tank and would just like some opinions on if indeed this is a good idea to begin with, and if so perhaps discuss some of the pros and cons of the different types out there.

I by no means want to pick a particular brand apart I just want to get the most bang for my buck! Anyway some of the options I have had a look at are the Boyu TL 550 and the Aquaria AM 102? What are some thoughts on these tanks and is there something that I should be looking at that may be a better alternative.

Any input will be appreciated

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Gesiggie

Gesiggie Challenge accepted

Hi Dimi,
    A couple of marine shops sell their own shop-made systems & packages which you could also look at.

Personally, I am a buyo fan, but I will add that I have had no experience with other brands.

4. 6x9base13

6x9base13

Same as Gesiggie - Boyus were my first foray and I have no real qualms, but that's coming from not having tried any others.

I'm assuming the limitations, space and otherwise are similar to most the plug and plays.

Get the biggest you can is the only suggestion , but then having been in the game you probably know that

tekkengal likes this.
  5. Dimi943

Dimi943 Thread Starter

Thanks a lot for the input!

6. Apollo

Apollo

Dimi,

Whilst smaller tanks can be very rewarding indeed, you need to bear in mind the following:

• With smaller water volumes , the stability is influenced more so than in larger tanks. This can be overcome, but requires diligence and keen attention to detail on a daily basis.