Aquarium Computers

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Galibore, 21 May 2007.

  1. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    I was thinking...

    ...there are quite a few computers and controllers on the market currently. But not one single one that solves the problem of cluttered power supplies/multiplugs etc.

    Does anyone know of a computer that not only controlls, but also acts as the power supply.

    When using a normal controller, the hardware being controlled, still needs to be plugged in somewhere and the wire connected to the controller. This actually adds to the mess.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    My thinking is that you have one unit with one cable from wall socket. Then it acts as an intelligent multiplug with buil;tin timers, inputs etc. And no plugs involved.
     
  4. Waynan

    Waynan

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town - Noordhoek
    I hear what you are saying, but there are design related issues that make it difficult to do...
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i guess the only way to do it will be to link your computer and tank etc. to a generator
     
  6. Bristlebasher

    Bristlebasher

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just think how big something like this would be - and where do you mount it so that it would still be easy to get everything plugged in?Small tank will be fine but on a bigger tank extension cords etc will be needed.

    Will be way more messy.
     
  7. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Why would it be so big? It would be bigger than other computers, but not that much. Remember there will be no plugs involved.
     
  8. Waynan

    Waynan

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town - Noordhoek
    But that would mean that you have to cut plugs off and thus void warranties...
     
  9. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Yeah...didn't think about that.
     
  10. Bristlebasher

    Bristlebasher

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ditto

    and how would it be expanded??

    Sorry - dont think it is a very good idea:whistling:
     
  11. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston

    Expanded?
     
  12. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    yupp expanded, if you add more goodies you'd need to expand for extra connections.
     
  13. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    How does current computers allow for that?
     
  14. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    i would imagine by means of the power bars they control? Still doesn't solve your clutter issue. Have you looked at the DB board approach Adriaan uses?
     
  15. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im sure there are controllers that just control certain items in the tank....
     
  16. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston

    Yeah, very neat but can you add relays to a DB board?
     
  17. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    sure you can put them in the same enclosure
     
  18. Galibore

    Galibore Thread Starter Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,829
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Cool, My brother in law is an electrician but lazy as hell and will probably make me pay for it. If it wasn't for that I would have done it already....lol.
     
  19. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    :):)lol
     
  20. phat

    phat

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the slums
    so whats a medium rated trip switch?

    i mean like on a car, you can get away with only carrying 20 amp fuses as spare cause generally the ones that blow are between 10 and 30

    so whats a save range to go for on a DB board?
     
  21. Hill

    Hill

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Auckland
    I would say 5A (if you can get them) and 10A. 5A will generally be enough to run 1250W worth of equipment.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Aquarium Computers Forum Date
up to 25% discount on complete aquariums Sponsor Specials 31 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Cooling a Marine Aquarium Beginner Discussions 5 Oct 2016
Two Oceans Aquarium Coral Swap Hosted at Perky Pets General Discussions and Advice 17 Sep 2016
Zetlight Marine Space Reef Aquariums JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 5 Sep 2016
Using Seaweed to get rid of nuisance algae in your aquarium or pond General Discussions and Advice 21 Aug 2016
[wtd] Den Braven Aquarium Silicone Black Wanted 6 Aug 2016