Aquarium Computers

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Galibore, 21 May 2007.

  1. Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    I was thinking...

    ...there are quite a few computers and controllers on the market currently. But not one single one that solves the problem of cluttered power supplies/multiplugs etc.

    Does anyone know of a computer that not only controlls, but also acts as the power supply.

    When using a normal controller, the hardware being controlled, still needs to be plugged in somewhere and the wire connected to the controller. This actually adds to the mess.
     
  2. Guest




  3. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    My thinking is that you have one unit with one cable from wall socket. Then it acts as an intelligent multiplug with buil;tin timers, inputs etc. And no plugs involved.
     
  4. Waynan

    Waynan

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town - Noordhoek
    I hear what you are saying, but there are design related issues that make it difficult to do...
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i guess the only way to do it will be to link your computer and tank etc. to a generator
     
  6. Bristlebasher

    Bristlebasher

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    JHB
    Just think how big something like this would be - and where do you mount it so that it would still be easy to get everything plugged in?Small tank will be fine but on a bigger tank extension cords etc will be needed.

    Will be way more messy.
     
  7. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Why would it be so big? It would be bigger than other computers, but not that much. Remember there will be no plugs involved.
     
  8. Waynan

    Waynan

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town - Noordhoek
    But that would mean that you have to cut plugs off and thus void warranties...
     
  9. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Yeah...didn't think about that.
     
  10. Bristlebasher

    Bristlebasher

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    345
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    JHB
    Ditto

    and how would it be expanded??

    Sorry - dont think it is a very good idea:whistling:
     
  11. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston

    Expanded?
     
  12. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    yupp expanded, if you add more goodies you'd need to expand for extra connections.
     
  13. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    How does current computers allow for that?
     
  14. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    i would imagine by means of the power bars they control? Still doesn't solve your clutter issue. Have you looked at the DB board approach Adriaan uses?
     
  15. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im sure there are controllers that just control certain items in the tank....
     
  16. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston

    Yeah, very neat but can you add relays to a DB board?
     
  17. Copperband

    Copperband

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    842
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Jo'kwane
    sure you can put them in the same enclosure
     
  18. OP
    Galibore

    Galibore Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Germiston
    Cool, My brother in law is an electrician but lazy as hell and will probably make me pay for it. If it wasn't for that I would have done it already....lol.
     
  19. djmurray

    djmurray Email me about anything

    Joined:
    20 May 2007
    Posts:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    :):)lol
     
  20. phat

    phat

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    745
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    the slums
    so whats a medium rated trip switch?

    i mean like on a car, you can get away with only carrying 20 amp fuses as spare cause generally the ones that blow are between 10 and 30

    so whats a save range to go for on a DB board?
     
  21. Hill

    Hill

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Auckland
    I would say 5A (if you can get them) and 10A. 5A will generally be enough to run 1250W worth of equipment.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Aquarium Computers Forum Date
RSS Shedd Aquarium 2018 Gala RSS Feeds 44 minutes ago
RSS Nausiccaá Public Aquarium Photos with Orphek LED Lighting RSS Feeds 12 Jun 2018
RSS Aquarium Makeover of a Red Sea Max at Nature Aquariums RSS Feeds 12 Jun 2018
RSS Here’s A Rarely Seen Hemiscyllium Shark Walking Around An Aquarium RSS Feeds 11 Jun 2018
RSS WATCH: How To Grow Coral From Coral Spawning – SciFri and Georgia Aquarium RSS Feeds 4 Jun 2018
The Waterbox Aquarium Thread RSM Red Sea Max tanks 29 May 2018
RSS Saltwater Aquarium Clean Up Crew For Beginners RSS Feeds 29 May 2018

Share This Page