Aquaria or Red Sea?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by CarkKent, 30 Oct 2012.

1. CarkKent

CarkKent

Hi All

I hope to get some expert advise from you guys. About 15 months ago I decided to buy an aquarium, being a beginner I started with something small, the BOYU TL550 which has served me extremely well, however as with most of us I just feel its time to move on;)...

Which brings me to my current problem of finding a new tank for Nemo :thumbup:....I'm still only looking for a "plug and play" system and so far most of the research on the forums etc. seems to be pointing towards 2 particular options, the Red Sea 250 and the Aquaria 1000, both have the very similar swimming area for the fish so that is not an issue.

The few issues I have come across so far are:
    The Aquaria is quite high (820) and some people advised I might have light problems for the corel at the bottom. I'm also a fan of curved edges and the Aquaria of course does not have that. However the Aquaria is extremely well build and looks very smart with the finishes especially. I even like the whole sump setup, very smart. The other question regarding the Aquaria that I have come across is the skimmer...is it very noisy inside the cupboard? My currently TL550 skimmer is quiet with it being in the back cavity so I assume the Red Sea will be the same.

The Red Sea Max 250 is also highly recomended, nice curve edges, good setup with all the wiring being out of the way with just one plug. The only problem I have is that it is a bit wide as far as the width is concerned, length and height is not an issue for me but the location my tank will stand makes walking by a bit tricky with the tank being 600 (552 for the tank plus a little gap between the wall and tank). The other concern that I have seen on this site cracks in the Red Sea tanks that occured without any user mistakes...Is there a real reliablity problem with the Red Sea Max 250?