Aquaria 102 Newbie

Reaction score
Hi all

I am like many others a complete noob to this but have decided that with time to come I am going to have a Marine Tank as my showstopper at home. For now I decided that today I am off to Aquaria-SA to get me started with the Aquaria 102. I know it's a nano but It is bigger than most I see out there and here in Durban parts will be easier for me to get a hold of should something go wrong. I have done a lot of research over the last 2 weeks and so today will be the big day. i am sure with the help of you fine generous people, i can handle such a task as my ultimate dream for a showstopper will be around 2 meters in length.

Please note i will have so many questions to come, all i ask for you kind people is have a bit patience with me.

:peroni: To many great reefing days ahead all.

welcome to Masa if u need any help i am in durban pm me bud will gladly assist good luck

Hey guys

Thanks for the great welcome. Well started my tank up now. So first off rinsed sand off a couple of times and placed that together with LR inside. Fueled it with water given to me from aquaria. Tank got so cloudy from filling of water (guess I did not clean sand like I thought I did). Any case I am sure that will settle. However I noticed that the water is fizzy when entering this skimmer. Is this normal. Also notice a few strands of junk floating around. Is there anything I need to do?

Hey all, just wanted to find out where in Durban I can get all the much needed test kits as well as a refractometer. I want to get a good quality kit 1 time and also, please advise which tests I need for now and also going forward.

Last edited:
@Aquaria-SA maybe. Don't know how far you are from them. Phone and ask if they have stock.
Definitely get an atc refractometer.
I use Salifert and Seachem testkits. But RedSea is also good.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome :)