AquaH2O 150

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by wvanzyl, 17 Jul 2009.

  1. wvanzyl

    wvanzyl

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town (Durbanville)
    Hi Guys,

    I have a AquaH2O 150 tank which I want to start setting up. Before I do I want to find out from other members on this forum how reliable these tanks are? Are they prone to bursting?

    Thanks for all the advise.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    I have an aqua h2o, bought it second hand. Dont know how long the guys before me had it for. Mine has been running for 9 months.
     
  4. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    What Size tank? Dimension?
     
  5. wvanzyl

    wvanzyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town (Durbanville)
    Thanks dogstar and keyaam. The dimensions are 1500x800x500 (LxHxW)
     
  6. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Depending which one you're talking about. The rimless ones tend to break. Also have a look at the centre support in the cabinet, you'll be able to see if the weight has damaged te cabinet and you'll probably need to put in extra support or it will pop in the middle...
     
  7. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Has it got bracing all the way round the top?
     
  8. wvanzyl

    wvanzyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town (Durbanville)
    Yes there is bracing probably about 150mm from the top all the way around the rim. The bracing is about 100mm wide
     
  9. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The aquah20 tanks that burst quite often are the one 1.5m and above (from what ive heard)
     
  10. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Correct Keyaam, I've heard exactly the same. They also tend to pop on the corners.
     
  11. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    mine is 1m.
     
  12. keyaam

    keyaam

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I think they pop on the corners cause the glass is thinner at the curves and cannot handle the pressure
     
  13. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Yup, it gets thinner when they bend the glass to make the corner.
     
  14. wvanzyl

    wvanzyl Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town (Durbanville)
    I'm not sure I would want to take the risk then with this tank
     
  15. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I've got the 120 x 45x 75 and it's fine. The previous owner had it running for 3 years. I just strenghned the support but I am busy builing a metal cabinet to replace the current one. Does your tank have euro bracing round the top?
     
  16. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town

    I have the AquaH2O 120 tank and it is serving me well...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - AquaH2O Forum Date
Advice on moving AquaH2O tank. General Discussions and Advice 18 Mar 2009
Warning! AquaH2O heaters Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 12 Oct 2007