Aqua One AquaMarine 9000 Reef Aquarium + MariSys 240

Discussion in 'New Members' started by bissey, 21 Nov 2009.

  1. bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
  2. Guest




  3. RUAN

    RUAN

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Welcome to masa, lets wait for the reef gurus
     
  4. Drk

    Drk

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lydenburg
    Welcome to MASA
     
  5. Jaak

    Jaak

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Welcome to MASA!!
     
  6. jaquesdp08

    jaquesdp08

    Joined:
    25 May 2009
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    ladybrand
    looks like a nice setup... how many T5's does it take ?? the picture has a nice aquascape that u can keep if u get the tank
     
  7. OP
    bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    It has 4 T5s i think. I know it has four lights total which are controlled in pairs. Blue & White
     
  8. jean19

    jean19

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    france .
    look nice , but 40cm deep , it's a bit just to make a nice landscape .
     
  9. jaquesdp08

    jaquesdp08

    Joined:
    25 May 2009
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    ladybrand
    that will be more than enough
     
  10. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Welcome Bissey.

    2 things that come to mind. 1 - Lighting, 2 - Skimmer.

    1 - It doesn't state how much lighting it has, and it also refers to "compact T5s", these units generally don't give the best light. I would say it should have at least 4x 36W, but better if it had 6 though for those corals that require more light.

    2 - It appears it doesn't have a skimmer, this is one of the most important pieces of equipment IMO, without one it make life more difficult.

    I see you are in the UK, why not get hold of "Viper357", sure he can help you.
     
  11. OP
    bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Thanks for your response.

    I have visited a local fish store and seen this unit running and was advised that it was a good set up for mixed reef. It does have a skimmer i was told, but the store i went to might have added stuff to the system as it was £499 all in.
    The one i saw running had loads of coral 6 fish, tangs ect and shrimp, crabs ect.

    aquamarine_900.php

    pdf = http://www.aquaone.co.uk/documents/Aquamarine900-marisys_instructions_lowres_new.pdf
     
  12. Annoying

    Annoying

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Welcome to masa!!!:welcometomasa2:
     
  13. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    No talk of a skimmer?

    I'm not trying to disregard this tank but have you compared it to the likes of the RedSea Max 250?

    check the specs!
    Red Sea MAX 250 | Specification

    1w per litre lighting ratio! Skimmer, pumps etc.

    I've put 2 together now and its awesome.

    It comes complete! Even with salt! (might be different per country), Why not get a quote?
     
  14. OP
    bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    I just looked at it and it is impressive but i am unable to find £1,299 to consider it.
    The aqua One does have a skimmer it says:-

    "A totally new product on the world market from Aqua One is the unique MariSys filter, an all in one filtration solution for saltwater aquaria. Apart from excellent filtration performance, the surface skimmer with return flow module is self priming thanks to the integrated peristaltic pump, thus ensuring if power is lost the filter does not overflow and automatically restarts when electricity is resumed".

    Thanks for the advice.
     
  15. flipwhip

    flipwhip

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town/Fishoek
    Welcome to MASA…...:thumbup:
     
  16. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Sorry, should have cleared this up in the begining, this is not the skimmer I refer to, I know its a bit confusing for a beginner. The skimmer they talk of is a "surface skimmer", this is basically a device where the water overflows (skimming the top layer of water off) to go down to the filter. The skimmer I ment was a mechanical protein skimmer, its a device that has a pump that usually blows water and very fine bubbles into a reaction chamber, and the "foam" removes protein from the water, helping to keep the water quality good.

    Surface skimmer.
    3924b09a9b661ba9.jpg

    Protein skimmer
    3924b09a9daf23b8.jpg
     
  17. OP
    bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ok i see what you are saying i did not know that thanks for the info.
     
  18. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Welcome to MASA...
     
  19. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,873
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    welcome...done some research and your aqua one does have a protein skimmer.

    the only thing that concerns me is it comes with lousy cfl lighting and only 120w of it for a 208liter tank is only adequate for softies.

    you will HAVE TO diy some decent proper t5's into this tank to keep lps or sps and clams or an anemone.

    REMEMBER 120W of cfl lighting gives aroung the same PAR as 80w of mh or High output t5(which is the normal t5's everyone uses for reefs). so you need to have about 200w of proper t5 lights to keep sps and anemone's etc
     
  20. toppdogg

    toppdogg

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    port elizabeth
  21. OP
    bissey

    bissey

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    I just want to thank everyone for there comments and the warm welcome i received.

    Thank you
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Aqua AquaMarine 9000 Forum Date
RO unit by AquaMarine Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 14 Sep 2009
Aquaforest Component 1+, 2+, 3+........is it worth the money? Water Parameters and Additives 13 Jul 2017
[wtd] Marine Aquarist Job in Saudi Arabia Wanted 4 Jul 2017
Aquaforest back in stock. Competition time Sponsor Specials 3 Jul 2017
Lets see your aquascape! General Discussions and Advice 28 Jun 2017
[wtd] Aqua medic sunbeam 2 x 54w Wanted 23 Jun 2017
Pet Lovers Emp. 10 % Off All Aquarium Products End Sunday 25 June 1pm Pet Lovers Emporium 20 Jun 2017