aqua medic At control anyone using one?

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by leslie hempel, 22 Oct 2010.

  1. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    anybody using one of the above?

    please offer comments if you are?

    Les
     
  2. Guest




  3. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I'm using it at the moment. Lovely little computer. Nice and easy to use.
     
  4. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    please tell me more, what do you need for basic use?
     
  5. Andreas

    Andreas

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Centurion
    I was looking at getting one as well so I'm also intereted in the responses.
     
  6. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    From what I have read on other forums it is basically aquatronica I was reading the product data sheet last night and its quite a nice little controller.
     
  7. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    :whistling:
     
  8. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
  9. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The basic unit comes with the computer, temp probe and temp interface as well as the pc interface. You need to buy the plug bar. All the other modules are upgrades.
     
  10. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Sorry. The level interface and float switch also comes with it.
     
  11. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    interesting thnks bud, any chance of some pics of yours in operation? im interested to see how you have placed/mounted the unit.. need ideas :)
     
  12. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I've just upgraded to a Profilux. So the AT-controller is running my holding tanks. I'll see if I can find pics of my old tank. Basically had it mounted on the canopy with a whole drilled for the usb cable. Worked really well and it still looks very neat.
     
  13. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    cool could you give us a bit of a comparison between the 2 controllers from your experience?
     
  14. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,386
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    @leslie. The AM controller is manufactured by AEB for Aqua Medic. AEB are the same people that manufacture the Aquatronica. The two systems are very similar but the modules are not interchangeable. You cannot use a AM Power bar on a Aquatronica etc. I have had less experience with the AM controller than the Aquatronica.

    From my experience (we have about 35 Aquatronica's that we look after) the AQT unit is very reliable and has a lot of features. More than the AM unit. The Aquatronica is very user friendly, Plug and play. LikesFish has written a logging program for the AQT controller.
    AquaStats | Waldo Nell's Voice

    This is a very handy bit of software that allows for service, maintenance, parameter and water chance records. One can download it for free from his web.

    Profilux is also very good. 18 months or so ago i would not have said it was as good as the AQT, as it was well behind in features. However it has had a whole bunch of upgrades and enhancements and, it now has more features than the AQT. Reliability reports are also very good.

    RobbyG from RC did a controller comparison chart some time ago. It is out of date now but gives an idea of the various controllers.


    Aquarium Controllers: Home

    If it were me looking for a controller system I would be debating the Profilux111 or the Aquatronica.
     
  15. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    The AM controller is a very nice simple to use controller. It has all the basics that you would want. Good value for money. Not sure how much they are going for these days. The ProfiluxIII is magic. I'm getting to know it better now and the possibilities are endless.
    Example: I'm using a diaphram pressure pump for my ATO. Cool little pump but pumps too strongly for my kalkstirrer. I've now set it up to pump for 10sec, be off for 10sec until the level is correct again. I get a nice rich suspension of the Ca(OH)2 and I have a maximum 'on' time of 01min 30sec. So it wouldn't pump pure kalkwasser into the sump.

    Like all things. You do get what you pay for. AT controller can do all the basics. Still love that controller.
    I'm also very happy with the ProfiluxIII. You can do more advanced things with it and it is SUPER cool to login from work or from my phone and check all my parameters.
     
  16. eddiead

    eddiead

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I must second Nemos Janitor. Although the components are made by the same people. none of the modules are interchangeable. I have tried this and the controller doesn't recognize the Aquatronica hardware.
     
  17. OP
    leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    15,017
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    thanks for the feedback guys it is appreciated..
     
  18. sgedas

    sgedas

    Joined:
    30 May 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lithuania
    cd

    hello, can you copy at-control cd ? please

    my email kgedasq@gmail.com
    regards.
     
    Last edited: 30 May 2011
  19. sgedas

    sgedas

    Joined:
    30 May 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lithuania
    connection to pc ?

    which end have be connected to computer, which to at-controler-power box ? can anybody send photo to email kgedasq@gmail.com?

    thanks
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - aqua medic control Forum Date
[wtd] AQUA MEDIC mV Controller Wanted 4 Feb 2013
[wtd] Aqua medic sunbeam 2 x 54w Wanted 23 Jun 2017
[wtd] Aqua medic 1 x 250w hailide +2 x 24wT5 (x2) Wanted 14 Jun 2017
Wanted: Aquamedic Auto Topup system ► Sponsor Request Forum 24 May 2017
[wtd] Aquamedic auto topup system Wanted 13 May 2017
[wtd] Aquamedic Auto topup system Wanted 30 Apr 2017
Aqua Medic Blue 1000 skimmer pump hardly producing bubbles Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 20 Apr 2017