Any way to bypass firewall?

Discussion in 'Internet' started by MistaOrange, 11 Feb 2013.

  1. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Was just wondering if there's any way to bypass the companies firewall to be able to see photobucket pics? Man this is getting to me as I don't get to see some of the members tank shots. It sucks!!!!!!!:cursing:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    can you see some pics and others not?
     
  4. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    I can see the pics if they have been attached with that paper clip thingy but if pics get posted via photobucket there's no chance I can see the pics while I'm at work.
     
  5. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2013
  6. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    yes there is a way, but if i had to explain you would have done it already :)

    the short answer is no, unlucky
     
  7. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,769
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
  8. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
  9. the fish

    the fish

    Joined:
    23 May 2012
    Posts:
    2,074
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida Hills Jhb
    oky only if you can get into the firewall and add an exception for photobucket this can be done. otherwize you can just connect your phone to the pc and use the usb tethering option. you will have to disconnect from your local network though for this to work. as soon as the pc shares your cellphones network then you should not have a problem. this is the best you can do at the moment. i would have said switch of the firewall pc but that might affect the internet of the entire company as some firewalls connect to router alone then on another card will connect to network. so switching of that pc might cause everybody to have no interwebs.. soz bud
     
  10. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    True will have to suffer then:(. Don't want to risk my job as I haven't been here long, was just wondering if it could be done.
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2013
  11. pXius

    pXius

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2011
    Posts:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Weltevreden Park, JHB
    In that case your company is probably already blocking most of the free proxy sites.

    You could set up your own proxy server which is a bit of a shlep and you'd be installing software on your company computer. Edging to the risky side of things.

    Phone or tablet would be the simplest answer imo.
     
  12. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Thanks guys for your input!!!!!
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2013
  13. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,537
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    lol addict!! :lol:
     
  14. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    You got that right:thumbup:. I have so much time between call so why not share it with MASA:thumbup:
     
  15. magman

    magman

    Joined:
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,144
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Richards Bay
    I got the exact same problem, have had it for a while, do you also work for a bank?
     
  16. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    Nope.
     
  17. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    jsut become friends with one of the IT guys.
     
  18. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    There are 2 IT companies here but am good friends with the guys from the one & they do not control the firewall. The onther company Mmmmm I'd rather not say much & think I've said too much already.
     
  19. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,155
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    I work at various places, including banks. Some companies do open their internet completely until 8:00 or 8:30.

    Including car sale sites, Facebook, Wimp, Imgur, Reddit.... After 8:30 they are blocked. After 17:00 they open up again. Suggest that to the boss...
     
  20. MistaOrange

    MistaOrange Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 Jan 2010
    Posts:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cape Town
    It's blocked 24/7 here & have brought it up & was told to rather do my job than to be searching the interweb. So I just sit here looking busy until a call comes through.
     
  21. Wes

    Wes

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2012
    Posts:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Randburg
    get a notebook with 3G :)
     
Recent Posts