Any one upgraded the LED on a 1w beam works unit

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by madmatt, 2 Feb 2016.

  1. madmatt

    madmatt

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    Has anyone done this conversation.

    Screenshot_2016-01-27-09-15-30.png
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    Upgraded to what?
     
  4. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    What I want todo or know is change the white led chips to 3w.
    Is it as easy as changing the leds and putting a higher amp 12v power supply on.
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    If you've got a power supply matched to the new LED's then I don't see why not. You may need to add additional cooling fans, I have one of these units and the heatsink does get pretty hot.
     
  6. FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bloemfontein, Freestate
    I dont know how that unit regulates current, but for 1w leds current is around 350mA and 3w leds go to 1 amp, so just check that
     
  7. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    As a plan b I was just thinking of replacing to 2middle whites with 3w just to brighten up the middle of the nano and leave the outsides as 1w
     
  8. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    Fitted the light to an aquaria 37L nano.
    Find the lights aren't strong enough. Zoas seem to next reaching and they're on the top of the rock.
     
  9. FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bloemfontein, Freestate
    Yeah thats because those leds probably arent even running at 1w to lengthen their lifespan
     
  10. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    That nano isn't deep at all so I'm shocked it hasn't got the strength to keep that tank happy
     
  11. FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bloemfontein, Freestate
    Jip thats the reason why all the newest fixtures use 3w leds , even the cheap chinese leds run at 2w and get moderate growth
     
  12. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    If there's any one that can asset me in just changing the 2 middle leds and just increase the power supply. Please confirm with me how to go ahead
     
  13. FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    FrikkieVanDieVrystaat

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bloemfontein, Freestate
    What voltage is the powersupply and what brand are the led chips?
    There is probably one or two drivers inside the unit that will need to be changed
     
    Last edited: 2 Feb 2016
  14. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    DC12V 1000Ma
    Leds will be normal 3w imported from Japan or from pe think they are cree
     
  15. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    will overheat if all 1W replaced by 3W.

    Need a fan unit and or better heat sink.
     
  16. madmatt

    madmatt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    JHB South
    And if I just replace the 2middle ones with 3w to brighten the centre of the tank where all the zoas and rock are
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - upgraded beam works Forum Date
Upgraded from boyu's to 500 litre system and 700 litre system General Discussions and Advice 13 Sep 2014
[wtd] Standard Upgraded Cup Tunze 9002 for RSM Wanted 24 Oct 2013
Hi guys The main server is being upgraded , so we will not be able to receiv... Dorry Pets Pretoria 13 Aug 2013
WOW - Another Tank Upgraded to LEDS Reef Aquatics 18 Feb 2013
Upgraded from my Boya TL-550 to 400 Rimless piece of the ocean General Discussions and Advice 26 Feb 2011
After 4 Months I Upgraded General Images 30 Apr 2009
tmc aquaray mini led 500 hd / AquaBeam 500HD tile Lighting 3 Jan 2015