Another DIY ATU

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by Forbes, 13 Jul 2015.

  1. Forbes

    Forbes

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I am currently updating a 600 cube I bought, and have designed the ATU to suit the existing sump layout. Any feedback and criticism would be appreciated.
    I have used off the shelf components from the hardware store and pvc piping suppliers. The only custom component is the bent clamping bracket which I had made by Mr. Plastic.

    ATU.jpg

    Float Switches.jpg

    Anti-Syphon.jpg
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. weezle

    weezle

    Joined:
    19 Jul 2012
    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    east london
    Who tops up the chamber on the left with RO water?:biggrin:
     
  4. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Unfortunately I have to do something. Hopefully I will only have to top it up when I do a water change.;)
     
  5. Dexter

    Dexter

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2014
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Randburg
    Nice one
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    the distance between the two float valves is too much. You will empty the RO chamber by the time you reach the top float.

    I prefer the floats to be close to each other. Must take less than a minute to fill from lower one to the top switch. Multiple small topups during the day is better than one or two big ones.
     
    Express Reef likes this.
  7. Rors

    Rors

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cape Town, Lakeside
    Nice job!
     
  8. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Thanks for the feedback Guys, I will move the switch to below the pipe support and swing them at 180 degrees to each other in order to get them closer together.
     
  9. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    those switches often leak electricity, make sure you only have max 12V going through them, looks good otherwise.
     
  10. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    If I can only run 12V through them I am going to need some help, I was planning on connecting to the top up pump. How do I use a 12V system and a 230V pump.
     
  11. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    you'll need some sort of switching relay.
     
  12. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Yeah, that's where I need the clever peoples help. How do I do that.
     
  13. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    easiest solution would to get a 12v pump
     
  14. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
  15. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    That would solve the top up pump, but I was also going to introduce a cut-off switch in case the water level in the sump got too high, so I would still like to know how to do it.
     
  16. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 11 Apr 2016
  17. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Thanks for the help, got what I need to know for now
     
  18. zippy

    zippy

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2014
    Posts:
    588
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Alberton
    good luck it really looks good so far, let us know the outcome.
     
  19. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Having been to my local electrical store, they can supply me with a 12V relay, however to run the top up pump circuit and the cut-off circuit I will need two relay systems at about R50 a system. The price I can live with if that is the best I can get, but the size of the two units and what to put them in make them unfavorable for me to use. Ideally I am looking for something the size of the link that Express Reef posted. Does anyone know where I can get the necessary hardware.
     
  20. Andre@ReefAquatics

    Andre@ReefAquatics Sponsor

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Durbanville
  21. Forbes

    Forbes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2013
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    For the top up pump I agree, but I was going to put a third float switch to turn off the return pump in the event of the sump filling beyond a certain level. It may be an overkill, I don't know.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Another Forum Date
Another Below cost Special for one day only!!!! Limited Stock!!!! Sponsor Specials 21 Dec 2015
Another ID Please ID Needed 16 Oct 2015
Bucket Quarantine another round Quarantine Tanks, sick fish, QT corals 11 Oct 2015
[wtd] Macro Algae - Another wanted thread Wanted 4 Aug 2015
Another algae question General Discussions and Advice 17 Jun 2015
Another unbeatable GHA Nuisance Algae 11 May 2015
Advice for another newbie New Members 22 Apr 2015