Anemones ... high nitrate

Discussion in 'Anemone's' started by badbiker, 13 Jul 2010.

1. badbiker

badbiker

From all the threads in most of the forum are mentioned that the anemones shall be kept in low nitrate and matured water. Last month I was monitoring 2 anemones from LFS. yesterday I bought both of them. So I thought I will test LFS’s water actually I was looking what nitrate level they maintain. so I did the test and the result was surprising >>>>>nitrate was 100mg/l <<<<<<<<
    [​IMG][/URL]
    My Q for Experts

How did anemones survived in very high nitrate water for more than 1 month and they are in good health ??

[​IMG][/URL]

[​IMG][/URL]

happy anemones

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. crispin

crispin

hi badbiker, im no nennie expert and I am sure youll get better advice from others about this but please take into account that we (collective we) sugest what is best for nennies over a sustainable long term future, and that is definatley low nitrates and mature STABLE water parameters as you suggest from your readings.

how that LFS keeps there stock i have no idea, but i would hazard a guess that your readings COULD be misleading in that the nitrates may be elevated due to a number of reasons (new import with some fish dying, over feeding etc etc etc) and not the average that the water is kept at. certainly no3 readings that high are NOT good for nennies. also do remember that LFS normally cahnge large percentages of water monthly and reduce pollution that way, so i wouldnt read too much into that LFS's water, personally i would concerntrate on my own water more.

out of intrest why did you get both nennies when its fairly well reported that dissimilar (as in not clones of each other) nennies may lead to chemical warefare between the two. I think you would have been better off just getting one if you have a tank thats set up and ready for them.

best of luck with them though:)

4. Manic

Manic Moderator