[Android] Detect Power Outages

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by vrgomes, 18 Apr 2012.

  1. vrgomes

    vrgomes

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and I have a Reef aquarium for about 3 year. You can see it here on my website:
    ReefCentral

    So after I presented my self I also bring something that I think can be usefull to all of us.

    I'm posting here a little application that I made because of my Reef Aquarium and I thought that I could share that application with everyone.
    So for our aquariums be perfect ok we need electricity. The problem is that everyone have power outages, so we must know when we have a power outage at home to be able to go there and fix for a solution.

    There are systems that do that for huge amount of money, but people can't afford to pay those systems.
    So I made this application that warn's you when a power outage occurred. And that can make the difference between life and dead of the Reef aquarium.
    The application it's free! (there is also a HD version :))

    It's only need internet connection at home and an Android phone.
    For example if you have internet at home you will be notified when that internet connection is lost, and if that happens that means that you have no electricity or you have no internet connection, In any case is a useful information!
    It's not needed any computer connected to the internet for the connection be established, so we don’t spend energy.

    More information on: (there is also huge amount of information of my Reef Aquarium)
    Angry Bolt Widget [Android] « ReefCentral

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Free version:
    • 2 widgets(1×1, 1×2);
    • Works with same reliability as the paid version;
    • Simple to use;
    • completely free =)
    [​IMG]
    Screens

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Paid version:
    • 4 widgets (1×1, 1×2, 2×2, 2×3);
    • HD widgets for your high resolution phone or tablet;
    • No ads;
    • Faster and more functionality;
    [​IMG]

    Video

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctQfkEVCU-s]Android - Angry Bolt Widget - YouTube[/ame]

    Greetings =)
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tremayn

    Tremayn

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    5,226
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lenasia
    Welcome! Awesome app man!

    Good to see some android stuff, all the apple guys have all the fun
     
  4. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Awesome idea. I guess not so nice for us, as most people dont have a static ip at home. Would need to use a DNS forwarding address for that, but thats also easy to do
     
    Last edited: 19 Apr 2012
  5. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
    Doesnt seem to connect over HSDPA/3G on my S2. Just keeps saying no internet connection.
     
    Last edited: 19 Apr 2012
  6. Clownfish9906

    Clownfish9906

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2012
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng
    hey vrgomes! Firstly, WELCOME TO MASA!!!

    Seems like an awesome application. Will have to also sort out a static IP. Wonder if we can get this to work with Blackberry's.... :p
     
  7. 2balive

    2balive

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
  8. erratiC

    erratiC

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Durban
    Same here - however, tested on DSL connection @ work and it works perfectly.
     
    Last edited: 19 Apr 2012
  9. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi, I don't have a static IP but it rarely changes. Even with modem/router restarts I keep the same IP for months.
    Anyway if your IP is allways changing you can use an old computer and run this No-IP - Dynamic DNS, Static DNS for Your Dynamic IP
    It will solve the IP adress problem =)

    For the message - "No Internet Connection" try open your browser and open this 2 websites with your HSDPA/3G:
    http://automation.whatismyip.com/n09230945.asp
    What is my ip? - WhatIsMyIp.org

    What happens is that the widget have a protection that for example when you are connected to those mall wireless where you have internet access but it only forward you for a login page where you put login/pass and after that you really have internet access. So you have internet acess but only limited to a page.

    What can be happening is that you HSDPA/3G provider can block the access to those sites or the Android is not detecting internet connection.
    When you connect to other wireless network it suddenly starts to work because that wireless have different permissions.

    Today or tomorrow I will post here a link to a updated version of the widget that try to resolve this issue and after that tell me if the new version works ;)

    As far for iOs and Blackberry they are great platforms but for now I dont have resources to develop to those platforms. But in the future it's a possibility.
    Or you can change to the dark side of the force, Android :lol:

    Greetings =)
     
  10. rakabos

    rakabos

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2010
    Posts:
    5,006
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel, JHB
  11. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
  12. erratiC

    erratiC

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Durban
    Very nice dude, that's working 100% for me now on 3G/Edge and DSL.
     
  13. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thank you for testing. I will do further testing today and try to release it on market today.

    Greetings.
     
  14. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi everyone e have just release this weakend the version 1.1.0:
    - Fix de vibration issue on some phones when notification alert is received.
    - Improved stability and connectivity when using some 3G networks;

    Plese let me know if something is not working. Soon I will also update the Angry Bolt with new and improved widgets with futher functionality ;)

    Greetings;
     
  15. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    @vrgomes Welcome to Masa. Just checked it, awesome application. Thank you for sharing it with us
     
  16. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi, thanks. Just hope that it is as helpful for everyone as it is to me.
    Soon I also plan to release an update with new functionality in this widgets.

    Greetings.
     
  17. chikaboo

    chikaboo

    Joined:
    2 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    4,980
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Newcastle - KZN
    Thank you bud for your contribution .... Can this monitor more than 1 ip? Meaning if I want to know if theres no internet at 2 routers? Also is there an app like this to use on Nokia N8 Symbian os?
     
    Last edited: 24 Apr 2012
  18. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi, yes you can. Just had another widget and apply the other IP address =D
    For symbian, right now i don't have resources to port the application to other platforms. Only the future will tell.

    Greetings.
     
    Mc likes this.
  19. Mc

    Mc

    Joined:
    8 Jun 2011
    Posts:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Benoni
    Thanks Gomes I have downloaded it and will give it a try later.
     
  20. gavster

    gavster

    Joined:
    4 May 2011
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Durban
    Now one for BB and Iphone and your work is done!:p
     
  21. vrgomes

    vrgomes Thread Starter

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thanks =D
    If you detect any problem tell me to fix it.

    BB and iphone are also good choices for a cellphone but right now for me it's impossible ($$) to develop to those platforms, but in the future they will be a good choice to port the application.

    Greetings.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - [Android] Detect Power Forum Date
new cyanide detection method! Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 30 Apr 2012
Revolutionary water leak detector General Discussions and Advice 19 Feb 2008