Also a newbie!

Reaction score
As stated in ,y post to Werners thread. i'm also new to Marine Aquriums, I bought a ready set up display tank from an aqurium. I have 3 clown fish and an anenome and 4 live rocks. I'm concerned about my levels? I tested for PH, it was at 9, the shop said to test for KH, which I did and it was at 9, and to put in Cape Coral Care PH & KH Buffer and test again. The PH stayed the same but now the Kh has dropped to 7 to 8? I want to get the rest of the tester kits, but at this stage I'm already stressing about my levels! Can anyone tell me what the heck is going wrong? I've got 7 years tropical aquarium experience and I'm now feeling rather clueless???

hmmm to soon for fish, the pros will have good advice, my guess is from the move

First think, you need to give more info on your tank. Volume, filtration etc.

Both your pH and Alk are not good.

Are you doing water changes ? If so what salt are you using ?

The easiest way to get your Alk up and your pH down, would be using Bicarbonate of Soda. Once we know the volume of your tank we can give you some ideas of dosing.

You need to do a few water changes over the next couple of days and make sure you get these levels right.

the move will have caused an upset in the biological scheme of things, now the tank has to adjust. even if the tank was months old, its like being new now.

my advice would be to take the livestock to the petshop for keeping until your tank has recovered from the move.

i am sure others will agree

Ok, i was not aware of moving tanks etc. but IMO a tank move causes problems with Nitrogen compounds not normally pH and Alk.

If your Nitrites and Ammonia levels are too high, your livestock will die, once again water changes are the only solution here.

You say you a nemmie ? How old is your tank, sounds like it could be way to young for this kind of creature.