Alphachem iodine?

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by lanzo, 22 May 2008.

  1. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    hey guys i think it was jacq that said he uses alphachem iodine.

    think this is what he said:

    +-50ml added to 250ml container
    +- 200ml of ro water to the same container

    dosage: he has a 870L tank and use +-25-30l\ml of that mixture 4 times a week.

    if this is not jacq ,sorry but i think it is him.:whistling:

    now i bought myself this bottle alphachem, is this it that you use?
    or is it the bleached bottle?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    picture a bit shit, it says on bottle
    alpha
    iodine tincture
    (for external use only)
    (for medical use)
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    That is EXACTLY what I use Lanzo.... Cheers, mate!
     
  5. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    sweet
    it is brown i colour.
    and how much do you think must i add to my system 250l-320l
    10ml 4 times a week?
     
  6. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Just remember the dilution. I dilute mine with 200ml RO water...

    Just tell me how many litres of water do you have in your system, Lanzo?

    Also - original iodine IS INDEED brown.....
     
  7. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    between 250-300l DT 250 and sump 80-100l but its full of sand so i think 50l in sump
    so i would say 250-300l
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Then I would say add +-5ml per day, 3 - 4 times per week.
     
  9. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    thanks allot, can't wait to use this:jiggy:
    i'll rather pay R8 than R150 for iodine, and it does the same thing:thumbup:
     
  10. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    BTW: LAnzo - did you follow LappiesReef & 459b's thread about chemicals? I think it was LappiesReef that tested some commercially available iodine - did not even find LOW amounts in it!
     
  11. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    followed it but missed that
    what is LOW amounts?
     
  12. Midasblenny

    Midasblenny

    Joined:
    11 May 2007
    Posts:
    855
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Randburg-Gauteng
    Guys just a friendly warning to be carefull with dosing iodine froma chemist, its soo easy to overdose and the subsequent algae blooms you`ll have will be a real pain to get rid of.
     
  13. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks for the warning MidasBlenny.... Yeah - I know - I learnt the hard way ;-)

    Therefore the low dosage per tank volume.....
     
  14. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    so they didn't found any traces of iodine in the products?
    was that the potato test?
     
  15. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I think so, BUT, they also did a chemical analysis, I think.... After the potato test did not color up.
     
  16. lanzo

    lanzo Thread Starter Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    oo, but how do you find this iodine?
    you said your nenies love it.
    hope mine gets better soon
     
  17. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Lanzo - I can see a definite difference in my nemmies in the way they open, after I have dosed this iodine.

    Another thing Lanzo - do you use Activated carbon? Remember that activated carbon will most likely remove iodine from the water, therefore the dosing....

    If think that IF you do water changes VERY often - that you could perhaps dose a little bit less even...
     
  18. lappiesreef

    lappiesreef

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PTA
    Jac- would Magnesium additions help a tank at all?
    Like MgCl? Or is that all taken care of through water changes?
     
  19. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LappiesReef - corals and corralline uses magnesium, as well as some macro algaes. BUT, as far as I understand, the little amount of magnesium that is used up is so little, that it would not really be extremely beneficial to dose magnesium. There are two reasonings on why one would perhaps dose magnesium, and that is:
    - either you KNOW that your magnesium levels in the tank is low, and you would want to dose
    - OR (like in my case previously), you have a problem with e.g. bryopsis nuisance algae, and a very high magnesium count actually kills the bryopsis.... then you would want to dose extra magnesium to increase the magnesium levels to e.g. 1500mg/litre (from the average 1300mg/litre) to force the bryopsis nuisance algae to die off...
     
  20. lappiesreef

    lappiesreef

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    PTA
    Great Thanks Jac.

    I asked since most Ca and Mg uptake mechanisms depend on each other or for the two ions to be presnet in certain ratio's. For humans we best absorb calcuim if it is with magnesuim and vitamin D. I wonder what the case is with Corals.

    Would Magnesuim chloride be an acceptable form to dose?
     
  21. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Yes - I am quite sure that it would, unless one doses a LOT without doing water changes. Then the chloride compound would most likely become out of balance...

    In my case I dose with magnesium sulfide (Epsom Salts).... BUT, I don't think that I dose enough for the sulfide compound to become out of sync in my tank :)
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Alphachem iodine Forum Date
Where to buy Lugol's Iodine General Discussions and Advice 25 Apr 2015
Vinegar and Iodine Dosing Water Parameters and Additives 28 Dec 2014
Iodine Dosing! Water Parameters and Additives 9 Oct 2014
tropic marine coral pro iodine General Discussions and Advice 2 Feb 2013
Iodine Dosing... Water Parameters and Additives 7 Jan 2013
Iodine Water Parameters and Additives 10 Dec 2012
Iodine Consumption, whats your rate? General Discussions and Advice 27 Jun 2012