Algal Turf Scrubbers

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by Broder, 28 Jul 2009.

1. Broder

Broder Mudshark

The whole ATS debate seems to have settled now, and most people agree that they will always benefit your reef aquarium. This thread is for advice on building your own algae turf scrubber and for showing off your scrubber if you already have one. There are heaps of good designs out there, and we aren't getting to see any of them. Post your pictures, questions, results and anything ATS related here, and lets take this fantastic form of filtration as far as it'll go.

I'll post some pictures of my ATS to get the ball rolling, but this thread is not about my experiences, but everyones questions, input, total beginner questions and new ideas.

What is it?

Basically it’s a screen, which has algae growing on it and water passing over it. As the water passes over it, the algae absorbs nutrients such as inorganic nitrate, inorganic phosphate and CO2, which it uses to photosynthesize and grow. The ingredient that we need to add to aid photosynthesis is of course light, ideally peaking in the red section of the spectrum, the stronger and closer to the screen, the better.

The idea is to create ideal growing conditions for the algae outside of the aquarium display. This will, over the period of about 6 weeks, under ideal conditions, out-compete the aquarium display for dissolved inorganic compounds, which make the algae flourish. This will allow more light to the corals and enhance their growth and colour, not to mention the fact that the eyesore of nuisance algae will be gone.

Algal turf is the hard macro algae which grows on well established ATS screens. This is hardly ever achieved on home grown screens. This is of no concern as any algae which grows on the screen is using the dissolved inorganic compounds which need to be removed from the aquarium.

[​IMG]