Algae problems

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by raytone, 31 Jul 2012.

  1. raytone

    raytone Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Hallo. I've got a problem with algae and it's growing faster everyday. I did all the tests and everything is ok. Change the RO filters and the tds was 0. Then i went to masa google search and found the algae scrubber. Then i build one. Here is my question: where am i suppose to put it? I fit it to the return chamber and T the return pipe with a 60w globe onto the mesh. It's been running for almost 3 weeks now but there is almost nothing on it. Please help me as my zoas starts to die aswell. I also scrub all LR before but nothing works, even with the phosban.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Hi there sounds like things are not fine even if the readings are low on your test kits

    When did it start? How much you feeding? What ever you are doing you need to slow down on all the things at once - I suggest water changes and do some large ones every week and that's it stop with the other stuff and it is going to take time to come right

    Every night you going to have to remove some algae and water changes Weekly don't carry on with other stuff if you don't know how they will affect your system
     
  4. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Thanks but why is the algae scrubber not working?
     
  5. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    It's because you don't know how to set it up - and with no pictures on what you have done does not help
     
  6. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
  7. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Whats your nitrate reading ?
    Whats the water flow over the scrubber
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2012
  8. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    0.02
     
  9. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Which NO3 test kit are you using that tests so low . Impossible for your NO3 to be 0.02 & still have algae problems
    Cant you check with another reefer / LFS

    Please post link to the scrubber design you used. Scrubber looks "dry". That lamp must be "burning it"
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2012
  10. raytone

    raytone Thread Starter Raytone

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    429
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    witbank Mpumalanga
    Sorry it's 0.2 and i just test the water now using salifert and expires 2014. Scrubber not dry and its my own design
     
  11. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Try answering Vatso
     
  12. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Whats your flow rate in the display tank
     
  13. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    ..
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2012
  14. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Also try to post a current pic of your display tank so others can see
    Have you done what vatso said?
     
  15. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    It is possible to have algae with low nitrates. The nitrates could be trapped in rocks, gravel etc giving the false belief of low readings. The same applies to phosphates. The nitrates and phosphates are leached out into the system slowly fuelling the algae problem.

    A few questions.

    What type of lights are you using? Halide, T5 etc
    What wattage and kelvin?
    How old are the lights?
    How long has the scrubber been running?
    How old is the system?
    What are you doing for nutrient reduction? Probiotics, adsorption sponges, carbon dosing, water changes etc?
     
  16. BigFish

    BigFish

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Robertsham,Jhb S
    Correct me if i'm wrong
    Basically you saying his NO3 & PO4 readings are showing low in the water but actually they are leaching almost instantly from the rocks/gravel into the algae. Which means that if he removes the algae then the water levels will spike leadiing to higher readings?

    If he tests at say 4am then won't his readings be higher?

    Would this not show his tank is still in some sort of "cycle"
     
  17. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    You must seed the screen by taking algae from the DT and rub it against the screen...
     
  18. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    The readings will be low due to the fact that the algae is consuming the nutrients... Like I said before try removing the algae manually from the DT and seed the algae scrubber with it, the firs two weeks run the scrubber 24/7. Get Red Sea No3:po4-x works like a charm ;)

    Red Sea NO3:pO4-X Nitrate & Phosphate Reducer
     
    Last edited: 2 Aug 2012
  19. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    It also seems the light is to far from the screen get it as close as you can with out getting it wet & it will take some time 2 weeks
     
  20. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    [​IMG]


    You need more light dude...


    [​IMG]
    try to close the light out from the rest of the sump so that the light only focus on the screen...
     
  21. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    That's right and very deceiving with nutrients. The water readings show just about no phos and nitrates but there is algae everywhere. We have seen the problem time and time again. Live rock and gravel, for example are notorious for absorbing nutrients and when they become saturated, leach them back into the water column to fuel algal outbreaks to the total confusion of the reefkeeper who cant figure out why he has algae.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Algae problems Forum Date
Problems since introducing algae scrubber General Discussions and Advice 19 Nov 2015
Algae problems in your aquarium? Have you tried the powerful ALGONE bags yet? JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 10 Jun 2015
Algae problems Nuisance Algae 9 Nov 2012
Green algae problems Nano Tank advice 18 May 2009
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Wednesday at 12:40
[wtd] Macro Algae Wanted Tuesday at 19:12
Looking for a hog 1or hogx1 uplift algae scrubber General Discussions and Advice Monday at 21:18