Aiptasia filter...

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by Annoying, 2 Jan 2012.

1. Annoying

Annoying

Hey

Has anyone doen this with success and how can I achieve a nice breeding setup in the sump. The idea is to have a seprate compartment in my sump just to breed aiptasia for maybe a copperband in the future but more likely for nutrient exports. I would like to know what lighting would be best for about 30cm deep water? I was thinking maybe two 40W CFL's. I'm willing to try this and I know the risks, whould just like your input.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. ShaunSwindon

ShaunSwindon

From my experiences trying to get rid of them I would say "NOOOOOOOOOOO" :p

My suggestion would be to "breed" them in a seperate system completely.

Then again I am a noob at this hobby still but risking an Aptasia farm in your display system would make my skin crawl sir :blush:

4. Adee

Adee

You have an aptasia eating copper and in your display tank?

I have hundreds of them growing in my live rock sump. Though I would think u would need a fair amount to aid with keeping ur tank clean.

5. LCornelius

LCornelius Moderator

They will infest your entire tank, so you will need to breed them in a seperate system.
    You will then have to place your copperband in the aptaisia system for feeding.

Copperbands will be fine without aptaisia :)

6. Annoying

Annoying Thread Starter

No not yet this is totally in the planning mode. I want the best of both worlds from a pest, making it a food and some sort of nutrient export even if it is juts a little.

Yes but natural foods do increase the health of the fish and also the time I have to get it to eat prepared foods. The idea is to have like nine pieces of live rock in the sump and then switching a rock every week from display to sump. This will give time for the aiptasia to spread to the rock that has been eaten clean