Advise on upgrading to a bigger tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by mandrin, 13 Feb 2012.

1. mandrin

mandrin

;)
    Hi guys i currently have a 37 Litre Aquaria tank been running for 8 months
    so i have now decided on gettin the aquaria 120 litre
    was thinkin to cycle my new tank
    gettin some live rock and a small dsb just to run for a small 2 weeks then add my fish in every week and then start with the corals and lastly the live rock and sand from old tank ,,,,is this a good idea .....any suggestions...ps i am new to hoobbby onli 8 months guys;)
    was also thinking of gettin some mature water from a friend of mine :thumbup:
    suggestions
    thanks guys u rock ;)

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Tony

Tony

You can start your cycle in the new tank and when it's complete which means when your ammonia is zero you can add yout livestock from your old tank with no problem. Just make sure the live rock in the new tank is added in the beginning of the cycle so it matures. If youre going to cycle the tank there is no need to use a friends water. You can add bacteria like prodibio and stalility to boost the bacterial counts. It beats lugging water around and the bacteria added is far more than your friends water will ever hold. When you want to move your animals across to the new tank, drip them well over a period of hours so they adapt to the new water

4. mandrin

mandrin Thread Starter

thanks tony
    so when can i add the live rock anx dsb from my old tank to fhe new one
    along wif the live rock and.cheato from.my mini refuguim

5. Tony

Tony

Once your new tank has cycled you can add your live rock. If the rock has corals attached I would place them in a container and drip them along with your fish and corals. You can drip them by adding one cup of new tank water to your corals and removing one cup of the tank water your corals and fish are being held in. Do this for about two hours.