Advice Please

Discussion in 'Fish Only Tanks, Predator Tanks' started by Aziz, 10 Jan 2008.

  1. Aziz

    Aziz

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, Ottery
    Hi all, is it true that its more difficult to run a fish only tank than a reef. I lost so far yellow tang, 3 emporer angels, 1 three spot angel, bicolor angel, 1 maroon clown, i think that it
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Aziz

    Aziz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, Ottery
    i have at the moment a fox face, 2 tomato clown, niger triger, and some other type of rabbit.
     
  4. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Have you cycled your tank ?

    How old is your setup ? :thumbup:
     
  5. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Aziz, we would need some info to help


    What size tank, how long has it been running when you started stocking.
    What filtration
    How fast/slow did you stock.
    What substrate/rock etc is in the tank
    Water parameters
     
  6. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi aziz.... sorry to hear about your loss....

    Here's my opinion on this:
    - I think that it's a combination of things of why we loose fish so much...
    1) the way that fish are caught and distributed and shipped and cared for (at all the points between the sea and our tanks)
    2) a case of the fish not being acclimitized decently at all points between the sea and our tanks
    3) a case of our tanks possibly having FAR too much current, forcing the fish (who might already be undernourished) to exert themselves TOO much and then die (perhaps having a decent "quarantine" setup or second tank to get the fish to feed first, before we place them in our main tanks...
    4) stress by other types of fish, which the type of fish we are adding are not used to competing with in nature (fish are nasty - they are extremely territorial - the can chase each other until death)
    5) all of the above - then added that the fish might not eat as well as they should, and they easily get infected with all sorts of illnesses - which infect ALL the fish in our tanks - because of the closed system - resulting in global deaths and not only the deaths of one or two fish

    That's my thoughs on this.... and I HAVE to agree - keeping corals are MUCH easier than keeping fish alive..... such a sorry state of afairs as fish are dying off....

    Sorry - but I did not "assist/give advice" in any way.....

    I agree with Kanga - it would help if you give us more information - also, have you added any fish recently? Have you changed anything else in your tank recently (lighting, filtration, replaced substrate, water, water temperature, added any other hardware) etc??
     
  7. Aziz

    Aziz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, Ottery
    well my tank is 1 year old 1.5L 600w 750h. including sump 1.1L 450 450. aragonite substrate, 4x 2000l/h power heads 2x3000l/h uplift. prizim pro skimmer. dsb and about 50kg of live rock that i think i have killed after the first out break of flukes. there is however some new pieces of live rock. and i do get to see some criters walking around my tank. ok lights im trying to change i have 2x t5 white and one blue t8 .
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks Aziz - where did the new live rock come from? Please try something for me - take one power-head off and manually use the power-head to blow directly on the live rock - do you see a LOT of crap coming out the the live rock?

    Also, what are your water parameters at this stage? Do you have comparison figures from before adding the live rock, to after the fish started dying off?
    ie. what's your pH? nitrate? ammonia? nitrite? water temperature levels?
     
  9. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    When did, you "kill" the rock could be a cycle now that you got new rock

    What are your water paramaters, mainly Ammonia, Nitrate, nitrite and PH
     
  10. Aziz

    Aziz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town, Ottery
    I am thinking of getting rid of all the live stock and redoing everything from scratch. i know it seems a bit extreme but i have read that once you have flukes there is no way of treating it but to dry out the tank completely and do everything over.
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    This action would of course work - BUT is a little on the outrageous side..... BUT it would most likely work.... you will then have to ensure that your live rock is clean, and that you replace the substrate as well.....

    Whatever your decide - good luck.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Advice Please Forum Date
Clownfish fighting - advice please General Discussions and Advice 22 Oct 2016
Advice Please - Zetlight ZT6600 vs ZT6800 Lighting 7 Sep 2016
Interested in getting back into the game. Advice please! Nano Tank advice 31 Aug 2016
skimmer advice please General Discussions and Advice 22 Jun 2016
t5 advice please Lighting 6 Jun 2016
DIY LED build with Reef Angel - Guru advice required, please! Anything DIY Related 28 Jan 2016
SKIMMER ADVICE PLEASE Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 2 Dec 2015