Advice needed

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by CCloete, 30 Jul 2013.

1. CCloete

CCloete

Hi Guys!!!

PLEASE HELP!!

I am a newbie to the site as well as a newbie to the hobby & am in need for help/advice.

I am getting a complete tank, sump, equipment, live rock, 3 chromis, clown fish ,yellow fox face,corral beauty,yellow tail damsel, 2 shrimps which one is a fire shrimp,hermit crab, star fish & 2 live corrals. (tank is currently running)

I am obviously moving the tank (aprox 1.5 hour drive) & need advice on the safest way to transport the display tank, sump & the precious fish.

I have read up that you need to bag the fish individually & put oxygen in the bag like they do at pet shops.
    Would I not be able to put the fish in a container with the current tank water in & one of those battery air pumps for the transporting?

Do I leave majority of the water in the sump for the journey?

Best ways to "cushion" the display tank for the journey

How do I transport the corrals & live rock?

Chris.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. the fish

the fish

@ADVdiver and @Nemos Janitor will be able to give you the best assistence with the move man. just click on their nics here and send them a private message:)

4. the fish

the fish

also your LR and Corals and fish can be transported in 25LTR drums or bigger with battery operated airpumps. best is to get a small inverter that can be plugged into your cars/bakkies lighter so that you can run a heater or 2 for the fish, inverts and corals.

5. CCloete

CCloete Thread Starter

Thank you!

6. 459b

459b Moderator MASA Contributor

If you new to the hobby then try a d get someone to hang onto the fish for a while.
    Moving is stressful enough even for the guys who've been in the hobby for years. It might be best to take your time setting up the tank and get the livestock when the tank is running and all the kinks hae been ironed out.

Last edited: 30 Jul 2013
  7. pkc

pkc