Adding Base Rock to you tank

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by Al, 18 May 2009.

  1. Al

    Al

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Posts:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Guy's,

    I want to buy some base rock (Dried Llive Rock). Will i need to cure the rock? or can i wash the rock and then put it in tank. Will only buy 5kgs of base rock. I curently have a about 30kgs of Live Rock in my tank.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Al - base rock will MOST likely cause a tiny ammonia/nitrite spike in your existing tank..... In a mature tank, this spike is really minimized....
     
  4. Al

    Al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Posts:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks Jaquesb. Maybe i must add little at a time to minimize the mini cycle.
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Investigate adding extra bacteria into your tank, at the same time as when you are adding base rock, Al. ie. Investigate either PSB, or SeaChem Stability.... (or even Cycle)....
     
  6. Al

    Al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Posts:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks. I normally use Stability after every water change,
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Agree with Jacques. Make sure the rock is rinsed out well in RO and then soak it in RO for about a week or so doing water changes daily just to remove phosphates that will/might be present.
     
  8. Al

    Al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Posts:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks Mekaeel. So i just need to soak in RO?
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Correct Al :)
     
  10. Al

    Al Thread Starter

    Joined:
    23 May 2008
    Posts:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Cool... Will try to get some Base rock this weekend.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Adding Base Rock Forum Date
Adding doors to my stand. Anything DIY Related 17 Sep 2016
Does adding a water pump slow the heating process? General Discussions and Advice 16 Jun 2016
Adding of new fish to aquarium General Discussions and Advice 28 May 2016
Adding more wrasses Marine Fish Discussions 21 May 2016
Adding some fish to my reeftank General Discussions and Advice 10 Aug 2015
Adding a sump to a tl 550-questions Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 1 Jun 2015
Tank cladding/panels fo stand Anything DIY Related 7 Apr 2015