Activated carbon placement

geoffrey

Blenny
Joined
10 Mar 2008
Posts
800
Reaction score
5
Location
Pretoria
Im currently using a canister filter filled with activated carbon. IMO increses amount of water and flow... but i want to get rid of it. its noisy and its my source of nitrates in my tank. now im left with this activated carbon. can i just put it in my sump before my skimmer? will there be enough flow?
 

lanzo

Clarion Angel
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
i always placed it in the second chamber were you have your ceramics, just rember to place it in a bag.
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,844
Reaction score
1,384
You can put it in the sump in a bag, that's fine, just once a week or so knead the bag a bit to prevent channeling.
 

geoffrey

Blenny
Joined
10 Mar 2008
Posts
800
Reaction score
5
Location
Pretoria
shot guys. will do! canister filters are a :nono: guys my nitrates are down to 50! i think! cant really read my test kit propperly. but the RO water seems to be working. will do another 20% next week.
 

lanzo

Clarion Angel
Joined
10 Sep 2007
Posts
9,395
Reaction score
26
Location
Centurion
they are better than red sea but next time go for tropic marine, they are very very good.
 

irie ivan

Copperband
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,711
Reaction score
426
Location
Bracken
Carbon placement...Good question... Easy answer. There is a specific order for maximizing filtration component efficiency: Mechanical>Biological>Chemical. By placing your carbon before your skimmer, you are severely reducing its efficiency. A large part of what the skimmer can remove, the carbon will either trap or try and adsorb. Carbon should be last in line, followed only by specialized water polishing resins, to maximize its efficiency.
 

geoffrey

Blenny
Joined
10 Mar 2008
Posts
800
Reaction score
5
Location
Pretoria
shoto ivan. just 1 little prob.my skimmer is in the last chamber of my sump. should i just put the carbon in the same chamber?
 

viper357

Admin
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
29,844
Reaction score
1,384
shoto ivan. just 1 little prob.my skimmer is in the last chamber of my sump. should i just put the carbon in the same chamber?
Turn your sump around Geoffrey, your skimmer needs to be first in line.
 

naptalene

Damsel
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
366
Reaction score
5
Location
Randburg
What are the chances of it being sucked into the return pumps intake? Got a Rio. I just started running it near the skimmer:whistling: 'cause i was worried about that.

Will try it in the last chamber.
 

irie ivan

Copperband
Joined
6 May 2007
Posts
3,711
Reaction score
426
Location
Bracken
If in a filter bag.....almost nothing
 

DeanT

Dean
Joined
16 Jun 2009
Posts
1,861
Reaction score
27
Location
Claremont, Cape Town
Hi Guys , i see you talking about Cannisters , i know many of you dont use them ,
is there a reason for this (sorry i am new to marines) .
i have 2 FX5 fluvals on my freshwater tank and i see i the media booklet there are products for marines .
is it advisable to use the cannister or not ?
thanks
 

FransSny

Purple Tang
Joined
16 Oct 2008
Posts
5,697
Reaction score
68
Location
Hermanus
Hi Guys , i see you talking about Cannisters , i know many of you dont use them ,
is there a reason for this (sorry i am new to marines) .
i have 2 FX5 fluvals on my freshwater tank and i see i the media booklet there are products for marines .
is it advisable to use the cannister or not ?
thanks
dean

my opinion is that a canister can work in a proper setup ie sump, skimmer, dsb if you can etc, but more as a reactor for phos remover, carbon etc.

i ran mine for the first 7 months on my tank and just had it filled with LR & carbon. up to now i still am not sure if removing it has made any significant impact

BUT then again i have a sump, skimmer, phos reactor, DSB and run carbon in my sump so....not sure about my observations.

The biggest thing i have against cannisters are the high level of flow through them is a bit much to create an effective "reactor effect" MHO only

Also i think you can get the same effect without the use of a canister ...rather use the electricity utelised by the canister to run extra flow INSIDE your DT.:)
 

Similar threads


Top